Buying guideIndependently ranked · 6 picks

Best Travel eSIMs for South Africa in 2026

On the live South-Africa-country ladder, the eligible 10 GB 30-day dest totals this pass are Nomad $18, Ubigi $20, Sim Local $21.50, Airalo $22, Yesim $22.93 and Saily $22.99.

Prices on this page are updated daily from live plan data — last refreshed . · How we rank

On the live South-Africa-country ladder, the eligible 10 GB 30-day dest totals this pass are Nomad $18, Ubigi $20, Sim Local $21.50, Airalo $22, Yesim $22.93 and Saily $22.99. Dest's cheapest South-Africa-country 50 GB is Airalo 30-day at $49, so the GigSky 180-day out rule stays quiet, yet GigSky still sits outside the ranked list because its 10 GB 30-day country total is $42.99. Roamless, aloSIM and ByteSim publish no South-Africa-country SKU on dest. All six 10 GB country prices differ on this pull, so named-host tiebreak never runs and the six slots stay filled.

Dest narrative summarises Vodacom and MTN as the widest national footprints for city and safari routes, Cell C traffic leaning on an MTN roaming arrangement, 5G concentrated in Johannesburg, Pretoria, Cape Town and Durban, and load-shedding not implemented since May 2025. Those lines describe the national MNOs. None of that copy assigns an MNO to a ranked pick here. Treat that dest summary as market colour only, not a shop Network cite.

South Africa is not an EU member and is not in the EEA, so roam-like-at-home that applies inside EU/EEA member states does not cover a South Africa visit. A UK or EU domestic SIM used in South Africa is billed on roaming terms, not domestic RLAH rates. South-Africa-country prepaid travel eSIM pricing stays storefront-only. A prepaid country travel eSIM row is not a stand-in for domestic RLAH.

The dest 10 GB, 30-day country order among the six ranked picks is Nomad, Ubigi, Sim Local, Airalo, Yesim, Saily. Top-up after attach runs in whichever brand app issued the South Africa eSIM.

Cape Town evenings on maps plus the GB you spend on Garden Route drives, Kruger rest-camp check-ins, or Joburg transit days set the size. Use Plan Match at /plan-match on this page when that South Africa mix still needs a number; otherwise go straight to the six ranked country totals.

In a hurry? Skip to the at-a-glance list. Planning something specific? Use our comparison tool to filter live plans by destination and budget.

The best travel eSIMs at a glance

Our 6 top picks, ranked. Tap one to jump to the full review.

All 6 compared on the same numbers

“Cheapest per GB” is the best value across a provider’s whole South Africa range; the columns after it hold the size fixed so providers are compared like for like. All figures come from live plans, refreshed daily. Host network is the local carrier each provider actually rides — the thing that decides how well an eSIM works away from the coast and the big cities.

ProviderHost network in South AfricaCheapest per GB10 GB20 GBUnlimited, 30 daysDaily fair-use cap
1NomadVodacom$1.45/GB$1.80/GB$1.45/GBNone sold—
2UbigiMTN, Telkom$1.10/GB$1.80/GBNo plan$79Not published
3Sim LocalVodacom$0.94/GB$2.15/GB$1.86/GBNone sold—
4AiraloVodacom$0.98/GB$1.90/GB$1.75/GB$993 GB/day
5YesimNot publicly disclosed unconfirmed$1.36/GB$2.27/GB$1.65/GB$61.32Not published
6SailyNot publicly disclosed unconfirmed$1.85/GB$2.30/GB$1.85/GB$109.995 GB/day

“No plan” means the provider sells nothing at that size in South Africa, not that it is unavailable. Fair-use caps are taken from each provider’s own published policy and cited in the unlimited table below; where a provider publishes no figure we say so rather than estimate one.

1
Cheapest South Africa 10 GB 30-day total; dest 3 GB, 5 GB, 20 GB☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Nomad

FROM$1.45/GB
Host networkVodacom
CoverageVodacom on the shop; mask Vodacom. Cape Town / Johannesburg / Durban inside South Africa. Neighbours unnamed.
HotspotYes on the shop FAQ
CodeDest prints ATESIM 20% on the 10 GB row. Programme excludes sale, unlimited, Thailand 50 GB, plans under USD 5
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
ATESIM20% off

Nomad's South Africa shop prints Network for South Africa: Vodacom. SKU mask_network names Vodacom (65501_ZA), types 4G. Hotspot FAQ: Yes, Nomad's eSIMs support tethering / hotspot. Overseas-territory hedge: coverage may not include overseas territories under the jurisdiction of the specified country. Shop tourist-city copy names Cape Town, Johannesburg and Durban inside South Africa. Lesotho, Eswatini, Namibia, Botswana, Mauritius and Reunion stay unnamed as separate South-Africa-country coverage on that shop. Dest host table this pull still prints Vodacom, Cell C for Nomad, so the shop/SKU cite seeds an UPDATE that drops Cell C.

Dest prints Local South Africa 10 GB 30-day at $18 with ATESIM 20%. Dest also prints Nomad 3 GB 30-day at $8 ATESIM (dest's cheapest 3 GB cell), Nomad 5 GB 30-day at $11 ATESIM (dest's cheapest 5 GB cell) and Nomad 20 GB 30-day at $29 ATESIM (dest's cheapest 20 GB cell). Unlimited Local South Africa rows on dest stop at 5-day and 10-day. No dest 25 GB or 50 GB South-Africa-country row for Nomad this pass. No dest unlimited 30-day South-Africa-country row for Nomad this pass.

Strengths
  • +Leads the ranked 10 GB 30-day dest ladder at $18
  • +Shop names Vodacom; mask_network Vodacom; hotspot FAQ yes
  • +ATESIM 20% where the dest table prints it on eligible capped rows
  • +Owns dest's printed 3 GB, 5 GB and 20 GB cheapest-at-size cells ($8 / $11 / $29)
  • +Overseas-territory hedge printed on the shop
  • +City marketing for Cape Town, Johannesburg and Durban on the shop
Limitations
  • −Dest host row needs UPDATE from Vodacom, Cell C to Vodacom only on publish
  • −No unlimited 30-day South-Africa-country row on dest
  • −No 25 GB or 50 GB 30-day country row on dest
  • −Neighbours unnamed as South-Africa-country coverage on the shop
  • −Short 1 GB 7-day row at $4 sits under the ATESIM USD 5 programme floor
Verdict · Local South Africa 10 GB clears $18 ATESIM with Vodacom alone on both the shop Network line and the 65501_ZA mask, hotspot yes in the FAQ, and dest's 3 GB, 5 GB and 20 GB country cells on the same Local line.
Buy Nomad →
2
Second at 10 GB 30-day dest total; dest 25 GB☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Ubigi

FROM$1.10/GB
Host networkMTN, Telkom
CoverageMTN and Telkom on the product page. Neighbours unnamed.
CodeTRAVELCITY10 for 10% off
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
TRAVELCITY1010% off

Ubigi's South Africa Prepaid 10 GB / 30 days product page (cellulardata.ubigi.com South Africa 10GB 30-days) names MTN and Telkom on the Network(s) coverage block. Partner-list pages are not the cite. Ubigi's South Africa 10 GB SKU coverage block stops at Network(s); it never adds a tethering support line, and public Wi-Fi marketing copy does not prove hotspot Yes, so that field stays blank. Data sharing is allowed on that SKU. Lesotho, Eswatini, Namibia, Botswana, Mauritius and Reunion stay unnamed as coverage claims on that product page. Best Africa Prepaid, Best World Prepaid and World Prepaid are different product lines. Dest currently confirms MTN, Telkom via a partner-list href, so publish ALIGNs the Confirmed string to the product Network(s) cite.

Dest prints South Africa Prepaid 10 GB 30-day at $20 with TRAVELCITY10 10% on the live table. Dest also prints a shorter Ubigi South Africa Prepaid 10 GB 7-day at $18 TRAVELCITY10, 1 GB 30-day at $5 TRAVELCITY10, 25 GB 30-day at $39 TRAVELCITY10 (dest's only 25 GB country floor), 50 GB 30-day at $55 TRAVELCITY10, and unlimited 7-day / 15-day / 30-day South Africa Prepaid rows at $35 / $49 / $79 TRAVELCITY10. No dest 3 GB, 5 GB or 20 GB South-Africa-country 30-day row for Ubigi this pass. Same provider, same 10 GB, 30 days on the live dest table: South Africa Prepaid $20, Best Africa $30, Best World $39, World $59.

Strengths
  • +Second-cheapest ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($20)
  • +Product page names MTN and Telkom
  • +Dest cheapest 25 GB South-Africa-country row ($39)
  • +TRAVELCITY10 10% where the dest table prints it on South Africa Prepaid rows
  • +Same 10 GB 30-day: South Africa Prepaid $20 vs Best Africa $30 vs Best World $39
  • +Data sharing allowed on the SKU
Limitations
  • −Hotspot tethering line unpublished on the South Africa 10 GB product page
  • −No Ubigi 3 GB, 5 GB or 20 GB 30-day South-Africa-country row on dest
  • −Unlimited 30-day FUP Not published on dest
  • −Neighbours unnamed as coverage on the product page
  • −Partner list is not used as a host cite
  • −50 GB country row at $55 trails Airalo's $49 floor
Verdict · MTN and Telkom on the South Africa Prepaid Network(s) block put Ubigi at $20 on the ranked 10 GB ladder, with the same Prepaid line also alone on dest's 25 GB country floor.
Buy Ubigi →
3
Third at 10 GB 30-day dest total☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Sim Local

FROM$0.94/GB
Host networkVodacom
CoverageVodacom on the 10 GB SKU. Neighbours unnamed.
HotspotYes on those SKUs
CodeATESIM 10% on the dest row
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
ATESIM10% off

Sim Local's South Africa 10 GB for 30 Days SKU page (ESFX-1380-SL1) prints Networks Vodacom and networks_used Vodacom. Hotspot and tethering: Yes. Local phone number: No. Coverage copy on that SKU expects strong coverage in major cities and urban areas and notes that remote, rural or less populated regions such as mountains, deserts or countryside may see variable signal and speeds. Coverage copy on that SKU stays inside South Africa and does not name Lesotho, Eswatini, Namibia, Botswana, Mauritius or Reunion as separate coverage. Sim Local is missing from the dest host table on this pull, so the SKU Networks line drives an ADD. Orange Holiday World rows on dest are regional, not South-Africa-country ranking floors.

Dest prints South Africa 10 GB for 30 Days at $21.50 with ATESIM 10%. ATESIM 10% does not apply to unlimited, add-ons, business, sale, Thailand 50 GB, or plans under USD 5. That South Africa 10 GB 30-day SKU clears the USD 5 ATESIM floor. Dest also prints Sim Local South Africa 5 GB 30-day at $12 ATESIM and South Africa 20 GB 30-day at $37.25 ATESIM. Shorter dest rows include South Africa 1 GB for 3 Days at $4 ATESIM and South Africa 3 GB for 7 Days at $8.75 ATESIM; the $4 row sits under the ATESIM USD 5 programme floor even when dest still prints the code. No dest 25 GB or 50 GB South-Africa-country row for Sim Local this pass. No dest unlimited 30-day South-Africa-country row for Sim Local this pass (unlimited 7-day and 15-day rows exist).

Strengths
  • +Third-cheapest ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($21.50)
  • +SKU names Vodacom; Hotspot and tethering Yes
  • +ATESIM 10% where the dest table prints it on eligible capped rows
  • +Fills third without padding Maya, Holafly or GigSky
  • +Clear city-versus-remote coverage hedge on the SKU
Limitations
  • −10 GB dest total sits above Nomad and Ubigi
  • −No unlimited 30-day South-Africa-country row on dest
  • −No 25 GB or 50 GB 30-day country row on dest
  • −Absent from dest host table until ADD on publish
  • −Neighbours unnamed as coverage on the SKU
  • −Short 1 GB 3-day row sits under the ATESIM USD 5 floor
Verdict · The South Africa 10 GB SKU keeps Vodacom as the only Networks entry, Hotspot and tethering Yes, and a $21.50 dest total that sits two-fifty above Ubigi.
Buy Sim Local →
4
Fourth at 10 GB 30-day dest total; dest 50 GB☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Airalo

FROM$0.98/GB
Host networkVodacom
CoverageVodacom first-network; package Vodacom. Neighbours unnamed.

Airalo's South Africa shop first-network block names Vodacom (Shows primary network the eSIM uses). Package copy also prints Operates on Vodacom network in South Africa. This retrieve has no hotspot Yes field. A note that tethering consumes allowance does not count as a hotspot Yes. Lesotho, Eswatini, Namibia, Botswana, Mauritius and Reunion stay unnamed as separate coverage on that shop. The same Airalo South Africa shop page also carries a Cell C / RSA CellC package line for a different SKU; the ranked 10 GB data-only cite stays Vodacom. Dest currently confirms Vodacom via a kenstechtips blog href, so publish keeps Confirmed Vodacom from the shop and drops the blog as the cite.

Dest prints Airalo 10 GB South Africa travel eSIM valid for 30 days at $22 with no promo code. Dest also prints Airalo 3 GB 30-day at $9, 5 GB 30-day at $12.50, 20 GB 30-day at $37 and 50 GB 30-day at $49, dest's cheapest South-Africa-country 50 GB 30-day cell this pass. Live-table unlimited 30-day is $99 (3 GB/day then 1 Mbps on dest). Dest also lists 10 GB country SKUs at 7 days and 15 days. No dest 25 GB 30-day South-Africa-country row for Airalo this pass.

Strengths
  • +Fourth ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($22)
  • +Shop first-network names Vodacom; package names Vodacom
  • +Publishes 3 GB, 5 GB, 10 GB, 20 GB, 50 GB and unlimited 30-day South-Africa-country rows on dest
  • +Owns dest's cheapest South-Africa-country 50 GB 30-day floor ($49)
  • +Short 7-day and 15-day 10 GB country rows on dest
Limitations
  • −10 GB dest total sits above Nomad, Ubigi and Sim Local
  • −Hotspot line unpublished on the South Africa shop retrieve this pass
  • −Unlimited 30-day country total sits behind Yesim and Ubigi
  • −Ranked 10 GB dest row carries no promo code this pass
  • −Neighbours unnamed as coverage on the shop
Verdict · Vodacom as first-network and the package line Operates on Vodacom network in South Africa leave Airalo fourth at $22 on data-only 10 GB, yet the same brand still holds dest's cheapest South-Africa-country 50 GB 30-day cell at $49.
Buy Airalo →
5
Fifth at 10 GB 30-day dest total; dest 1 GB☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Yesim

FROM$1.36/GB
Host networkNot publicly disclosed
CoverageMNO Confirming. City list Cape Town / Johannesburg / Durban and other South Africa cities. Neighbours unnamed.
HotspotDepends on operator
CodeTRAVELCITY 15% on the dest row
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
TRAVELCITY15% off

Yesim's South Africa shop technical specs print Hotspot: Depends on operator. Only a shop or SKU hotspot field counts as Yes; brand marketing alone does not. Destinations operators payload on this retrieve does not publish a Vodacom / MTN / Cell C / Telkom host string, so the MNO host stays Confirming / unpublished. Coverage city list: Bloemfontein, Cape Town, Durban, East London, Johannesburg, Pietermaritzburg, Pretoria, Randburg, Vereeniging, Welkom, and other cities in South Africa. About-page brand mentions of SwitchLess Networks are marketing, not an operators cite. Lesotho, Eswatini, Namibia, Botswana, Mauritius and Reunion stay unnamed on that city list. Yesim soft-check this pass: dest live 10 GB 30-day totals $22.93 with TRAVELCITY; the uncoded shop list still shows $24.00 for 10 GB / 30 days. Rank on the dest JSON total.

Dest live-table Yesim 10 GB 30-day prints $22.93 with TRAVELCITY 15%. Dest also prints Yesim 1 GB 30-day at $3.78 TRAVELCITY, dest's cheapest 1 GB cell, Yesim 20 GB 30-day at $33.24 TRAVELCITY, Yesim 30 GB 30-day at $41.27 TRAVELCITY, and Yesim 0.1953125 GB 1-day at $0.52 TRAVELCITY. Unlimited 30-day is $61.90 TRAVELCITY with dest printing Not published for FUP. Day-count unlimited rows also run on dest; no Yesim 3 GB, 5 GB or 50 GB 30-day South-Africa-country row this pass.

Strengths
  • +Fifth ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($22.93)
  • +City list printed on the country shop
  • +TRAVELCITY 15% printed on dest Yesim South Africa rows
  • +Owns dest's printed 1 GB cheapest-at-size cell ($3.78)
  • +Cheapest unlimited 30-day South-Africa-country total among brands with a country row ($61.90)
Limitations
  • −Hotspot specs say Depends on operator
  • −Network line still Confirming with no Vodacom / MTN / Cell C / Telkom host string
  • −10 GB dest total sits above Nomad, Ubigi, Sim Local and Airalo
  • −No Yesim 3 GB, 5 GB or 50 GB 30-day South-Africa-country row on dest
  • −City list stops at South Africa cities; neighbours stay unnamed
  • −Soft-watch shop list $24.00 vs dest $22.93
Verdict · TRAVELCITY trims Yesim's live dest 10 GB total to $22.93 against a shop plate of $24.00, operators stay unpublished this pass, and hotspot stays Depends on operator while the brand owns the printed 1 GB country cell and the cheapest country unlimited 30-day total.
Buy Yesim →
6
Sixth at 10 GB 30-day dest total☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Saily

FROM$1.85/GB
Host networkNot publicly disclosed
CoverageMNO Confirming. Neighbours unnamed.
HotspotNo hotspot restrictions on the shop

Saily's South Africa shop Network line prints Reliable connection from South Africa's best networks and does not name Vodacom, MTN, Cell C or Telkom as host, so the MNO host stays Confirming / unpublished. Hotspot: No hotspot restrictions or limitations. Marketing copy on that retrieve does not name Lesotho, Eswatini, Namibia, Botswana, Mauritius or Reunion as coverage claims for the South Africa plan (separate destination pages in the country picker are not SA-plan coverage).

Saily's dest 10 GB 30-day total is $22.99. Saily South-Africa-country dest rows carry no promo code this pass. Saily's 3 GB 30-day dest total is $9.99, behind Nomad $8. Saily's 5 GB 30-day dest total is $12.99, behind Nomad $11. Saily's 20 GB 30-day dest total is $36.99, behind Nomad $29. Saily unlimited 30-day dest total is $109.99 (fair-use 5 GB/day then 1 Mbps on dest), behind Yesim $61.90 and Ubigi $79 among brands with a country unlimited 30-day row. No dest 25 GB or 50 GB South-Africa-country row for Saily this pass. Dest also lists shorter Saily unlimited South Africa day-count rows from 5 days up to 25 days.

Strengths
  • +Sixth ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($22.99)
  • +Shop hotspot line: No hotspot restrictions or limitations
  • +Publishes 3 GB, 5 GB, 10 GB, 20 GB and unlimited 30-day South-Africa-country rows on dest
  • +Sits inside the six without padding Maya, Holafly or GigSky
Limitations
  • −Network line still Confirming with no Vodacom / MTN / Cell C / Telkom host string
  • −10 GB dest total sits behind the other five ranked picks
  • −Wins no printed cheapest-at-size cell on the 30-day South-Africa-country ladder
  • −Unlimited 30-day country total sits behind Yesim and Ubigi
  • −Ranked 10 GB dest row carries no promo code this pass
Verdict · Saily's $22.99 10 GB dest total closes the six with a Confirming Network line, unrestricted hotspot on the shop, and no cheapest-at-size win anywhere on the South-Africa-country 30-day ladder.
Buy Saily →
What it actually costs

What South Africa data actually costs

South Africa travel eSIM prices look random until you convert every plan to one number: the real cost per gigabyte. Here is what that reveals right now.

The cheapest plan at each size, 30 days

DataCheapest providerTotalPrice per GB
50 GBAiralo$49$0.98/GBGet plan ↗
25 GBUbigi$39$1.56/GBGet plan ↗🏷 10% off with code TRAVELCITY10
20 GBNomad$29$1.45/GBGet plan ↗🏷 20% off with code ATESIM
10 GBNomad$18$1.80/GBGet plan ↗🏷 20% off with code ATESIM
5 GBNomad$11$2.20/GBGet plan ↗🏷 20% off with code ATESIM
1 GBYesim$3.75$3.75/GBGet plan ↗🏷 15% off with code TRAVELCITY

Cost per GB rises from $0.98/GB at 50 GB to $3.75/GB at 1 GB. Buying a little more data than you expect to use is almost always cheaper per gigabyte than buying exactly what you need.

The "unlimited" trap

The same words, unlimited for 30 days, cover a wide price range, and most plans slow down after a daily threshold that the label hides.

ProviderUnlimited, 30 daysFair-use cap
Maya$49.993 GB/day, then 10 Mbps sourceGet plan ↗🏷 10% off with code ATESIM
Yesim$61.32Not publishedGet plan ↗🏷 15% off with code TRAVELCITY
GigSky$74.992.5 GB/day, then reduced, but not below 100 kbps sourceGet plan ↗🏷 15% off with code ATESIM
Ubigi$79Not publishedGet plan ↗🏷 10% off with code TRAVELCITY10
Airalo$993 GB/day, then 1 Mbps sourceGet plan ↗
Saily$109.995 GB/day, then 1 Mbps sourceGet plan ↗

Unlimited 30 day plans run from $49.99 to $109.99, a spread of about 120 percent, for a label that means the same thing on paper. Check the daily cap before you buy, especially if you plan to tether a laptop.

Do not overpay for coverage you will not use

If your whole trip is in South Africa, a South Africa only plan is far cheaper per gigabyte than a Africa or global plan carrying the same data. Same provider (Airalo), same 20 GB, 30 days:

Airalo planPricePrice per GB
South Africa only$35$1.75/GBGet plan ↗
Africa$43$2.15/GBGet plan ↗
Global$66$3.30/GBGet plan ↗

A South Africa only plan costs much less per gigabyte than a regional or global plan with the same data. Only pay for the wider plan if you are actually crossing borders on this trip.

The bottom line

Nomad is cheapest on the ranked 10 GB 30-day dest ladder at $18 with Vodacom, and also holds dest's 3 GB, 5 GB and 20 GB South-Africa-country cells. Ubigi is second at 10 GB on MTN and Telkom and alone on dest's 25 GB cell. Sim Local is third at 10 GB on Vodacom with hotspot Yes and needs an ADD on the dest host table. Airalo is fourth on 10 GB; Vodacom is the primary network on the shop, and that brand posts the cheapest country 50 GB 30-day floor at $49. Yesim is fifth at 10 GB with operators still Confirming, owns the 1 GB cell, and posts the cheapest country unlimited 30-day total at $61.90. Saily is sixth on the 10 GB ladder: host still Confirming, shop hotspot unrestricted. GigSky is not 180-day-out and still sits outside the six at $42.99 on 10 GB. Maya is out. Roamless, aloSIM and ByteSim publish no South-Africa-country SKU on dest. Hosts: Nomad Vodacom on the shop (UPDATE drops Cell C); Ubigi MTN and Telkom on the South Africa Prepaid product page; Sim Local Vodacom on the 10 GB SKU (ADD); Airalo Vodacom first-network; Yesim Confirming; Saily Confirming. GigSky: unpublished on the shop. Shop or SKU pages mark hotspot Yes for Nomad, Sim Local and Saily. GigSky hotspotBody Unlimited use included. Yesim Depends on operator. Ubigi and Airalo still lack a hotspot Yes field on this retrieve.

Yesim names South Africa cities on the city list. Nomad prints Cape Town, Johannesburg and Durban inside South Africa and an overseas-territory hedge. Ubigi, Sim Local, Airalo, Saily and GigSky leave Lesotho, Eswatini, Namibia, Botswana, Mauritius and Reunion empty as coverage claims beyond the country label. South Africa sits outside EU/EEA; RLAH does not apply, while travel eSIM rows stay storefront-priced.

Plan Match is /plan-match.

Still weighing it up for a specific destination? Our travel eSIM comparison toolranks live plans by real price per GB, filtered to exactly where you’re going.

Frequently asked questions

Does a South-Africa-country eSIM cover Lesotho, Eswatini, Namibia, Botswana, Mauritius or Reunion as separate coverage?

Keep Lesotho, Eswatini, Namibia, Botswana, Mauritius and Reunion coverage empty for every ranked pick unless that shop names the place. Yesim city list: Bloemfontein, Cape Town, Durban, East London, Johannesburg, Pietermaritzburg, Pretoria, Randburg, Vereeniging, Welkom and other cities in South Africa; neighbours unnamed. Nomad shop: overseas territories may be excluded; Cape Town, Johannesburg and Durban named as tourist cities inside South Africa; neighbours unnamed as South-Africa-country coverage. Ubigi South Africa product page: MTN and Telkom; neighbours unnamed. Sim Local South Africa 10 GB SKU: Vodacom; neighbours unnamed. Airalo: Vodacom first-network; neighbours unnamed. Saily and GigSky: unnamed. Do not invent cross-border coverage from Vodacom, MTN, Cell C or Telkom presence alone.

Can I tether or use a hotspot?

Nomad South Africa shop FAQ: Yes, Nomad's eSIMs support tethering / hotspot. Sim Local South Africa 10 GB SKU: Hotspot and tethering Yes. Saily shop: No hotspot restrictions or limitations. GigSky shop: hotspotBody Unlimited use included. Yesim specs: Depends on operator. Ubigi South Africa 10 GB product page: no tethering support line this pass. Airalo's South Africa shop retrieve this pass shows no hotspot Yes field. Usage copy about hotspot burning data still lacks a Yes field, so hotspot stays empty.

Which network will I actually use?

Nomad South Africa shop: Vodacom (SKU mask_network Vodacom 65501_ZA). Ubigi South Africa product page: MTN and Telkom. Sim Local South Africa 10 GB SKU: Vodacom. Airalo shop: Vodacom first-network; package Operates on Vodacom network in South Africa. GigSky: unpublished on the shop. Saily and Yesim: Network lines still Confirming with no MNO named. A dest Network Partners cell that only lists programme brands does not set the shop host. Partner list is not the Ubigi cite. If the dest host table and the shop or SKU disagree, keep the shop or SKU and move the dest SET with it. Dest currently prints Nomad as Vodacom, Cell C Confirmed; shop Network line prints Vodacom only, so publish UPDATEs that row. Dest currently confirms Ubigi via a partner-list href; publish ALIGNs Confirmed MTN / Telkom to the product Network(s) cite. Dest omits Sim Local; publish ADDs Confirmed Vodacom.

Does ATESIM apply on this corridor?

ATESIM programme exclusions still cover unlimited, add-ons, business, sale, Thailand 50 GB, and plans under USD 5. On this corridor dest applies ATESIM to Nomad South Africa capped rows (20%), Sim Local South Africa capped rows (10%) and GigSky South Africa capped rows (15%). No ATESIM string appears on the ranked Saily or Airalo 10 GB dest cells. Yesim's ranked South Africa rows use TRAVELCITY 15% instead of ATESIM. Ubigi's ranked South Africa Prepaid rows use TRAVELCITY10 10%.

Why does GigSky sit outside the South Africa six without the 180-day out rule removing it?

Eligible South-Africa-country 10 GB 30-day programme totals this pass run Nomad $18, Ubigi $20, Sim Local $21.50, Airalo $22, Yesim $22.93, then Saily $22.99. GigSky's South Africa-country 10 GB 30-day dest total is $42.99 ATESIM, which is seventh. This guide ranks six programmes only, so GigSky's seventh-place 10 GB total stays off the shortlist instead of being forced in. The 180-day rule only removes GigSky when the cheapest South-Africa-country 50 GB SKU on dest is a GigSky 180-day row; that winner remains Airalo 50 GB 30-day at $49. GigSky publishes no South-Africa-country 50 GB row on dest this pass.

Does roam-like-at-home cover a South Africa visit?

South Africa is not in the EU and is not in the EEA. RLAH that applies inside EU/EEA member states does not cover South Africa. A UK or EU domestic SIM used in South Africa is billed on roaming terms. Domestic-SIM roaming charges and the prepaid travel eSIM totals printed here are not the same product. A South-Africa-country travel eSIM total is not an RLAH product.

Which phones work with a South Africa travel eSIM?

Most dual-SIM phones that already accept an eSIM profile can run these plans. Before you buy, check the provider's own compatibility list for your exact model and carrier lock status. South African visitors often keep a home line active for WhatsApp while the travel eSIM carries data on Vodacom, MTN, Cell C or Telkom depending on the pick. This FAQ does not list stock global handset generations.

See these ranked for your destination

Compare 14,000+ travel eSIMs by real price per GB across 110+ destinations — filtered to where you’re going.

Compare eSIMs →