
Compare the Best Travel eSIMs for Japan
Prepaid data eSIMs for visitors to Japan, every plan ranked by real price per GB. This is not a Japan contract or a local SIM. Updated daily.
Reviewed by Lee DobsonLast updated Ranked independently by real price per GBUpdated dailyFree to use, no account
The 3 best Japan eSIMs right now
Hand-checked · ranked by price per GB
Skip the scrolling, get matched to your best Japan plan
3 quick questions about your trip length and data habits. We’ll rank all 125 plans and hand you the top match.
- ✓ Takes under 60 seconds
- ✓ Ranks every provider we track
- ✓ No account or email needed
NomadLocal Japan - 30 Days - 50 GBAll plans 125

What Japan data actually costs
Japan travel eSIM prices look random until you convert every plan to one number: the real cost per gigabyte. Here is what that reveals right now.
The cheapest plan at each size, 30 days
| Data | Cheapest provider | Total | Price per GB | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 50 GB | Nomad | $35 | $0.70/GB | Get plan ↗🏷 20% off with code ATESIM |
| 25 GB | Ubigi | $32 | $1.28/GB | Get plan ↗🏷 10% off with code TRAVELCITY10 |
| 20 GB | Nomad | $23 | $1.15/GB | Get plan ↗🏷 20% off with code ATESIM |
| 10 GB | Nomad | $16 | $1.60/GB | Get plan ↗🏷 20% off with code ATESIM |
| 5 GB | Nomad | $10 | $2.00/GB | Get plan ↗🏷 20% off with code ATESIM |
| 1 GB | Ubigi | $4 | $4.00/GB | Get plan ↗🏷 10% off with code TRAVELCITY10 |
Cost per GB rises from $0.70/GB at 50 GB to $4.00/GB at 1 GB. Buying a little more data than you expect to use is almost always cheaper per gigabyte than buying exactly what you need.
The "unlimited" trap
The same words, unlimited for 30 days, cover a wide price range, and most plans slow down after a daily threshold that the label hides.
| Provider | Unlimited, 30 days | Fair-use cap | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Maya | $49.99 | 3 GB/day, then 10 Mbps source | Get plan ↗🏷 10% off with code ATESIM |
| Yesim | $51.68 | Not published | Get plan ↗🏷 15% off with code TRAVELCITY |
| Ubigi | $65 | Not published | Get plan ↗🏷 10% off with code TRAVELCITY10 |
| GigSky | $65.49 | 2.5 GB/day, then reduced, but not below 100 kbps source | Get plan ↗🏷 15% off with code ATESIM |
| Airalo | $69 | 3 GB/day, then 1 Mbps source | Get plan ↗ |
| Saily | $71.99 | 5 GB/day, then 1 Mbps source | Get plan ↗ |
| Sim Local | $77.50 | 10 GB/day, then Throttled after 10GB/day | Get plan ↗🏷 10% off with code ATESIM |
Unlimited 30 day plans run from $49.99 to $77.50, a spread of about 55 percent, for a label that means the same thing on paper. Check the daily cap before you buy, especially if you plan to tether a laptop.
Do not overpay for coverage you will not use
If your whole trip is in Japan, a Japan only plan is far cheaper per gigabyte than a Asia or global plan carrying the same data. Same provider (Sim Local), same 20 GB, 30 days:
| Sim Local plan | Price | Price per GB | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Japan only | $25.50 | $1.27/GB | Get plan ↗🏷 10% off with code ATESIM |
| Asia | $35 | $1.75/GB | Get plan ↗🏷 10% off with code ATESIM |
| Global | $35 | $1.75/GB | Get plan ↗🏷 10% off with code ATESIM |
A Japan only plan costs much less per gigabyte than a regional or global plan with the same data. Only pay for the wider plan if you are actually crossing borders on this trip.
Which network does your Japan eSIM use?
This is the question that decides your real signal, and almost no comparison site answers it. Your travel eSIM connects to one or more local networks as a visitor, and that choice matters the moment you leave the big cities, because rural coverage varies a lot between them.
| Provider | Host network | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Nomad | KDDI au / SoftBank | Confirmed |
| Sim Local | KDDI au | Confirmed |
| Saily | KDDI and SoftBank | Confirmed |
| Airalo | Softbank + KDDI | Confirmed |
| Ubigi | KDDI and NTT Docomo | Confirmed |
| GigSky | Not publicly disclosed | Confirming |
| Yesim | Not publicly disclosed | Confirming |
GigSky and Ubigi have confirmed access to NTT Docomo, the network with the strongest rural and mountain coverage; Airalo and Nomad run on SoftBank and au, which is fine for cities but weaker in remote regions, and Saily and Yesim do not publish their Japanese host.
Coverage by where you are going
- In Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto and other major cities all four networks give strong 4G and widespread 5G, so any provider here performs well.
- The Tokyo Metro and Toei subway carry signal on platforms and in running tunnels, so maps and messaging work underground.
- Coverage is strong along the Tokaido and Sanyo Shinkansen lines, with brief drops inside long mountain tunnels on any carrier.
- In rural areas, mountains, Hokkaido and Tohoku, NTT Docomo reaches furthest while SoftBank and au thin out in remote valleys and at higher elevations.
- Okinawa and the southern islands run on the same carriers, with populated and resort areas well covered and some outer islets patchy.
- 5G launched in March 2020 on Docomo, au and SoftBank and is now common across urban centers; Rakuten, live since April 2020, remains thinnest in rural areas.
Travel eSIM vs a local Japan SIM
A travel eSIM from the six providers here is the simplest route for a short trip. You install it before you fly, it connects to a Japanese carrier on arrival, and pricing is fixed in advance with no local paperwork. Data-only plans do not include a Japanese phone number, so use app-based calling and messaging for contact.
Local budget carriers such as IIJmio, mineo, povo 2.0, LINEMO, and Rakuten Mobile can cost less per gigabyte and some include a real Japanese number. The trade-off is setup, since several require a Japanese address, a local payment method, or identity checks that are hard to clear as a short-term visitor.
Quick rule: For a trip under a month, use a travel eSIM. For a long stay or residency, get a local SIM with a Japanese number.
Japan's networks are NTT Docomo, au (KDDI), SoftBank and Rakuten Mobile, and budget brands like povo 2.0 (au) and LINEMO (SoftBank) resell those networks; Rakuten, live since April 2020, still has the thinnest rural coverage.
How a Japan travel eSIM works
A travel eSIM replaces expensive roaming with a cheap local data plan you activate in seconds. There is no plastic SIM and no airport queue. Roaming with your home carrier can run 6 to 12 dollars a day, so a week easily tops 50 to 80 dollars for service you already pay for at home.
Three things to get right:
- Check your phone supports eSIM before you buy.
- Install the eSIM at home over WiFi, but wait to activate it until you land, because the validity period usually starts on activation.
- Keep your physical SIM in the phone for calls and texts on your normal number.
How we rank Japan eSIMs
Every plan on this page is sorted by real price per GB (total price divided by included data, normalised to USD), so a cheap-looking 1 GB plan cannot outrank a better-value 10 GB one. We refresh prices daily and only list providers with a track record of activating on arrival. We earn a small affiliate commission when you buy through our links. It funds the price tracking and never changes the order you see.
Japan travel eSIM FAQ
Which Japan eSIM has the best rural coverage?
A provider that hosts on NTT Docomo gives the widest rural reach. Among the six here, GigSky and Ubigi have confirmed Docomo access, which helps in Hokkaido, Tohoku, and mountain areas where SoftBank and au weaken.
Will a Japan eSIM work on the Shinkansen and in the subway?
Yes. All four Japanese networks cover the main bullet train lines and the Tokyo Metro and Toei subway, including station platforms and tunnels. Expect only short drops inside long mountain tunnels.
Do these eSIMs cover Okinawa and Hokkaido?
Yes. The same national carriers serve both. Populated areas and resort zones on Okinawa and across Hokkaido are well covered. Some outer islands and remote countryside can be patchy on non-Docomo networks.
Can I use a Japan eSIM in South Korea or Taiwan?
No. Japan is not in any roaming union, so a Japan plan is domestic only. Data stops when you leave the country. For a multi-country trip, buy a regional Asia plan instead.
Does an unlimited Japan plan really mean unlimited data?
Not at full speed. Most unlimited plans give a daily allowance at high speed, then slow the connection. Nomad sits at 2 GB per day, Airalo at 3 GB, and Saily at 5 GB, after which speeds drop to between 512 kbps and 1 Mbps.
Do these eSIMs come with a Japanese phone number?
No. The travel eSIMs here are data only, with no Japanese number or SMS. Use WhatsApp, iMessage, or similar apps for calls and texts. For a real local number you would need a local carrier SIM.














