Buying guideIndependently ranked · 4 picks

Best Travel eSIMs for Malta in 2026

On the live Malta-country ladder, the eligible 10 GB 30-day dest totals this pass are Ubigi $12, Sim Local $13.75, Yesim $18.59 and Airalo $20.

On the live Malta-country ladder, the eligible 10 GB 30-day dest totals this pass are Ubigi $12, Sim Local $13.75, Yesim $18.59 and Airalo $20. Dest cheapest Malta-country 50 GB is Ubigi Malta Prepaid 50 GB 30-day at $39, so the 180-day out rule stays quiet; GigSky still has no Malta-country SKU on dest and stays outside the ranked set. Nomad and Saily publish no Malta-country 10 GB 30-day SKU on dest (Nomad: 5 / 20 / 50 GB capped; Saily: unlimited-only). Roamless, aloSIM and ByteSim publish no Malta-country SKU on dest. No two eligible totals meet, so named-host tiebreak stays unused. Fifth and sixth stay empty.

Opensignal publishes no dedicated Malta Mobile Network Experience operator report this pass. Opensignal's Global Network Excellence Index table retrieved this pass does not list Malta as a reportable country row, so there is no GNEI overall / Availability / Excellent Consistent Quality / Download Speed cite for Malta. Do not invent Opensignal awards for Epic, GO or Melita on this corridor.

The Malta Communications Authority (MCA) Mobile QoS Benchmarking 2025 page (press release dated 16 July 2026; measurements December 2025 by Systemics-PAB across Malta and Gozo, about 1,500 km of drive and walk tests) ranks Epic as the top overall performer, with GO a close second and Melita third. Epic led data throughput and voice; GO ranked first for browsing, video streaming and online gaming; Epic led OTT / WhatsApp-style data transfer; Epic was most consistent across regions. Gozo and Western regions improved versus the prior benchmark and still showed the lowest 5G deployment, while all three operators provided robust nationwide 4G coverage. Those regulator scores describe the national MNOs. They do not name a host for any pick.

Malta is one of the 27 EU member states named on the European Commission's roaming Q&A. Roam-like-at-home applies when a subscriber of an EU/EEA (and, as of 1 January 2026, Ukraine/Moldova) domestic mobile plan travels periodically in another country inside that perimeter, including Malta. It does not reprice a prepaid Malta-country travel eSIM bought on a storefront. UK operators sit outside that Commission perimeter after Brexit; check the home operator before treating a UK plan as RLAH in Malta. A domestic Maltese postpaid or prepaid plan that later roams elsewhere in the EU/EEA is a separate RLAH case from a visitor travel eSIM.

Gozo, Comino, Sicily, Italy and Tunisia stay empty as coverage claims unless that shop names the place. No ranked shop named those places as coverage on a Malta-country SKU this pass. Nomad markets Valletta, Mdina and Cospicua and prints an overseas-territory hedge. Yesim names Birkirkara through Valletta on its city list. Sim Local ESFX-0950-SL1 coverage is Malta with a generic rural mountains/deserts/countryside hedge. Do not invent a Gozo ferry or Sicily latch from Epic, GO or Melita presence alone. MCA drive tests that include Gozo are national infrastructure narrative, not a shop coverage claim.

The dest 10 GB, 30-day country order among the four ranked picks is Ubigi, Sim Local, Yesim, Airalo. Once a plan registers on a Maltese network, top-ups stay inside that provider's app.

Valletta stay length and a daily data budget for a Gozo ferry day or Mellieha north-coast runs decide the size before you open the four ranked Malta-country rows. Plan Match at /plan-match is the on-page route when those two inputs still need converting.

In a hurry? Skip to the at-a-glance list. Planning something specific? Use our comparison tool to filter live plans by destination and budget.

The best travel eSIMs at a glance

Our 4 top picks, ranked. Tap one to jump to the full review.
1
Cheapest ranked 10 GB 30-day total; dest 10 GB, 50 GB; unlimited 30-day floor☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Ubigi

FROM$1.20/GB
Host networkEpic, GoMobile, Melita Malte
CoverageEpic, GoMobile, Melita Malte on the product Network(s) block. Gozo / Sicily unnamed.
CodeTRAVELCITY10 for 10% off
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
TRAVELCITY1010% off

Ubigi's Malta Prepaid 10 GB / 30 days product page (cellulardata.ubigi.com Malta 10GB 30-days) names Epic, GoMobile and Melita Malte on the Network(s) coverage block. Partner-list pages are not the cite. Hotspot support is not stated as a tethering yes line on that product page (marketing copy about public Wi-Fi hotspots is not a hotspot: yes cite), so hotspot stays empty. Gozo, Comino, Sicily, Italy and Tunisia stay unnamed as coverage claims on that product page.

Live-table 10 GB 30-day Malta Prepaid is $12, TRAVELCITY10 10% where the dest table prints it. That $12 total is the cheapest ranked 10 GB country floor and dest cheapest at 10 GB. Live-table 50 GB 30-day is $39, which is dest cheapest at 50 GB, TRAVELCITY10. Live-table unlimited 30-day Malta Prepaid is $49 TRAVELCITY10, which is the cheapest ranked unlimited 30-day Malta-country floor this pass (dest Fair-use cap Not published). Dest also prints shorter Ubigi Malta Prepaid rows including 10 GB 7-day at $9 and 3 GB 15-day at $6, both TRAVELCITY10. No dest 5 GB, 20 GB or 25 GB Malta-country 30-day row for Ubigi this pass.

Strengths
  • +Cheapest ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($12)
  • +Dest cheapest 10 GB and 50 GB country rows ($12 / $39)
  • +Product page names Epic, GoMobile and Melita Malte
  • +TRAVELCITY10 10% where the dest table prints it on Malta Prepaid rows
  • +Cheapest ranked unlimited 30-day country floor ($49)
Limitations
  • −Hotspot tethering line unpublished on the Malta 10 GB product page
  • −No 5 GB, 20 GB or 25 GB 30-day country row on dest
  • −No adjacent-country or Gozo coverage claim on the product page
  • −Unlimited Fair-use cap Not published on dest
Verdict · Malta Prepaid prices first at $12 with Epic, GoMobile and Melita Malte named on the product page, then holds the 50 GB country floor at $39 and the ranked unlimited 30-day floor at $49.
Buy Ubigi →
2
Second at 10 GB 30-day dest total; dest 5 GB☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Sim Local

FROM$1.375/GB
Host networkEpic, GO
CoverageEpic, GO on ESFX-0950-SL1. Rural hedge Sim Local-only. Gozo / Sicily unnamed.
HotspotYes on those SKUs
CodeATESIM 10% on the dest row
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
ATESIM10% off

Sim Local's Malta 10 GB / 30 days SKU (ESFX-0950-SL1) prints Networks Epic, GO. Hotspot and tethering: Yes. Coverage is Malta on that SKU. The same SKU coverage copy expects strong coverage in major cities and urban areas and notes that remote, rural or less populated regions such as mountains, deserts or countryside may see variable signal and speeds. Gozo, Comino, Sicily, Italy and Tunisia stay unnamed as coverage claims. Do not invent a Gozo or Sicily latch from Epic or GO alone.

Live-table 10 GB 30-day is $13.75, ATESIM 10% where the dest table prints it. Live-table 5 GB 30-day is $10.75 ATESIM, which is dest cheapest at 5 GB. Live-table 20 GB 30-day is $27.50 ATESIM, behind Nomad $20 (Nomad outside six on 10 GB). No dest 25 GB, 50 GB or 30-day unlimited Malta-country row for Sim Local this pass. Shorter dest rows include 1 GB / 3 days at $4.25 ATESIM and 3 GB / 7 days at $8.75 ATESIM, plus unlimited 7-day / 15-day and Unlimited Pro variants.

Strengths
  • +Second-cheapest ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($13.75)
  • +Dest cheapest 5 GB 30-day country row ($10.75)
  • +SKU names Epic, GO
  • +Hotspot and tethering Yes on ESFX-0950-SL1
  • +ATESIM 10% where the dest table prints it
  • +Printed rural hedge on the SKU (Sim Local-only)
Limitations
  • −10 GB dest total sits above Ubigi
  • −No dest cheapest-at-size win at 10, 20 or 50 GB on the 30-day country ladder
  • −No 25 GB, 50 GB or unlimited 30-day country row on dest
  • −Gozo and neighbouring places unnamed as coverage
Verdict · ESFX-0950-SL1 lands second at $13.75 with Epic and GO on the Networks line, hotspot yes, and the 5 GB country floor at $10.75.
Buy Sim Local →
3
Third at 10 GB 30-day dest total☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Yesim

FROM$1.859/GB
Host networkNot publicly disclosed
CoverageMNO Confirming. City list on the shop (Yesim-only). Gozo unnamed on that list.
HotspotDepends on operator
CodeTRAVELCITY 15% on the dest row
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
TRAVELCITY15% off

Yesim's Malta shop technical specs print Hotspot: Depends on operator. Hotspot marketing blocks are not treated as a yes cite. Network coverage city list: Birkirkara, Fgura, Hamrun, Imsida, Qormi, Santa Venera, Senglea, Sliema, Tarxien, Valletta, and other cities in Malta. Destinations operators payload naming Epic, GO or Melita was not retrieved on the plan objects this pass (CloudFront challenge on the curl path; WebFetch returned the city list and hotspot line), so the MNO host stays Confirming. ID verification stays Confirming this pass (no clear Not-required string on the WebFetch retrieve). Gozo, Comino, Sicily, Italy and Tunisia stay unnamed on that city list. Editorial About copy that mentions top eSIM carriers is not a carrier cite. Watch Yesim price drift: live dest 10 GB 30-day is $18.59 TRAVELCITY this pass (shop list without code printed $19.20).

Live-table 10 GB 30-day is $18.59, TRAVELCITY 15% where the dest table prints it. Live-table 500 MB / 1 day is $0.52 TRAVELCITY. No dest 5 GB, 20 GB, 25 GB, 50 GB or unlimited 30-day Malta-country row for Yesim this pass (shop list prints additional sizes that dest does not carry this pass - gate on the dest JSON total).

Strengths
  • +Third ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($18.59)
  • +City list printed on the country shop (Valletta and nine other named towns)
  • +TRAVELCITY 15% where the dest table prints it
  • +Short 500 MB / 1-day dest row at $0.52
Limitations
  • −MNO host Confirming (operators object unpublished this pass)
  • −Hotspot specs say Depends on operator
  • −10 GB dest total sits behind Ubigi and Sim Local
  • −No 5 GB, 20 GB, 25 GB, 50 GB or unlimited 30-day country row on dest
Verdict · Yesim holds third at $18.59 with a printed Valletta-centred city list, while the MNO host stays Confirming until the destinations operators object is on the shop retrieve.
Buy Yesim →
4
Fourth at 10 GB 30-day dest total☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Airalo

FROM$2.00/GB
Host networkEpic
CoverageEpic first-network. Gozo / Sicily unnamed.

Airalo's Malta shop first-network line names Epic (Shows primary network the eSIM uses). Dest labels the local brand Maltafone. No Operates-on package string was retrieved on the Maltafone 10 GB 30-day package page this pass. Hotspot support is not stated as a dedicated yes line on the shop (a usage note that hotspot might use more data is not a hotspot: yes cite), so hotspot stays empty. Gozo, Comino, Sicily, Italy and Tunisia stay unnamed as coverage claims on that shop.

Live-table 10 GB 30-day is $20 (no promo code on dest). Live-table 20 GB 30-day is $28, behind Nomad $20 and Sim Local $27.50. Live-table unlimited 30-day is $69 with dest fair-use 3 GB/day then 1 Mbps. Shorter dest rows include 10 GB / 15 days at $19.50, 20 GB / 15 days at $27, 5 GB / 15 days at $12.50, and short unlimited day-pass rows. No dest 5 GB, 25 GB or 50 GB Malta-country 30-day capped row for Airalo this pass.

Strengths
  • +Fourth ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($20)
  • +Shop first-network names Epic
  • +Unlimited 30-day country row on dest ($69)
  • +Short 15-day capped ladder on dest (5 / 10 / 20 GB)
Limitations
  • −Dearest of the four ranked 10 GB totals
  • −No promo code on dest
  • −Hotspot tethering line unpublished on the shop
  • −No 5 GB, 25 GB or 50 GB 30-day capped country row on dest
  • −Gozo and neighbouring places unnamed as coverage
Verdict · Airalo closes the four at $20 on an Epic first-network line under the Maltafone label, with a 30-day unlimited country row at $69 and no dest promo code.
Buy Airalo →

The bottom line

Ubigi is the cheapest ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($12), dest cheapest at 10 GB and 50 GB, and cheapest ranked unlimited 30-day. Sim Local is second at 10 GB on an Epic / GO SKU with hotspot yes, and dest cheapest at 5 GB. Yesim is third at 10 GB with a Confirming host and a printed city list. Airalo is fourth at 10 GB on an Epic first-network line. Slots 5 and 6 stay empty. Maya is out. Nomad wins the dest 20 GB country floor at $20 but stays outside the six on the missing 10 GB row. Dest has an unlimited 30-day programme country floor at Ubigi $49 among ranked brands. Hosts: Ubigi Epic / GoMobile / Melita Malte on the product Network(s) block; Sim Local Epic, GO on ESFX-0950-SL1; Yesim Confirming; Airalo Epic first-network. Sim Local prints a hotspot yes line. Yesim specs say Depends on operator. Ubigi and Airalo hotspot lines stay empty.

Nomad prints an overseas-territory hedge and markets Valletta, Mdina and Cospicua (outside six). Yesim names Birkirkara through Valletta on the city list. Sim Local and Airalo leave named cities and Gozo / Comino / Sicily empty as coverage claims beyond the country label, aside from Sim Local's generic rural hedge. No Gozo, Comino, Sicily, Italy or Tunisia latch on the ranked Malta-country shops. Malta is inside the EU RLAH perimeter for EU/EEA domestic subscribers; travel-eSIM storefront prices stay separate.

Plan Match is /plan-match.

Still weighing it up for a specific destination? Our travel eSIM comparison toolranks live plans by real price per GB, filtered to exactly where you’re going.

Frequently asked questions

Does a Malta-country eSIM cover Gozo, Comino, Sicily, Italy or Tunisia?

Empty as a coverage claim for all four ranked picks this pass unless that shop names the place. Nomad shop (outside six): overseas territories may be excluded; marketing copy names Valletta, Mdina and Cospicua; Gozo unnamed. Yesim city list: Birkirkara, Fgura, Hamrun, Imsida, Qormi, Santa Venera, Senglea, Sliema, Tarxien, Valletta and other cities in Malta; Gozo and Sicily unnamed. Sim Local ESFX-0950-SL1: Networks Epic, GO; coverage Malta; rural mountains/deserts/countryside hedged as variable. Airalo Malta shop: Epic first-network; Gozo and Sicily unnamed. Do not invent Gozo or Sicily coverage from Epic, GO or Melita presence alone. MCA QoS drive tests that include Gozo are not a shop coverage claim.

Can I tether or use a hotspot?

Sim Local ESFX-0950-SL1: Hotspot and tethering Yes. Yesim specs: Depends on operator. Ubigi Malta 10 GB product page: no tethering yes line (public Wi-Fi marketing is not a cite). Airalo Malta shop: no dedicated hotspot yes line this pass.

Which network will I actually use?

Ubigi product page: Epic, GoMobile, Melita Malte. Sim Local ESFX-0950-SL1: Epic, GO. Yesim: Confirming this pass. Airalo: Epic first-network. Opensignal has no Malta GNEI country row and no dedicated Malta Mobile Network Experience report this pass. MCA QoS Benchmarking 2025 scores describe the national market and are not a shop host.

Does ATESIM apply to Sim Local's Malta 10 GB plan?

ATESIM does not apply to unlimited, add-ons, business, sale, Thailand 50 GB, or plans under USD 5. The Malta 10 GB 30-day dest/shop offer is $13.75 this pass, so it is not under the USD 5 floor. Dest prints ATESIM on that row and on the Malta 5 GB / 20 GB and shorter Sim Local rows. Programme ATESIM still does not apply to unlimited rows.

Why are only franked picks ranked?

Dest prints only four eligible Malta-country 10 GB 30-day programme totals this pass (Ubigi $12, Sim Local $13.75, Yesim $18.59, Airalo $20). Nomad has no 10 GB Malta-country row. Saily has no capped Malta-country 10 GB 30-day row. GigSky, Roamless, aloSIM and ByteSim are absent from dest country plans. Slots 5 and 6 stay empty rather than padding Maya, Holafly or Europe/World regional rows.

Why does GigSky stay off the ranked list even though the 180-day 50 GB rule is quiet?

The out rule would fire only when dest's cheapest Malta-country 50 GB SKU is a GigSky 180-day row. Dest cheapest Malta-country 50 GB is Ubigi 30-day at $39, so the out rule stays quiet. GigSky still publishes no Malta-country SKU on dest this pass, so it cannot take a ranked slot on a 10 GB total.

See these ranked for your destination

Compare 14,000+ travel eSIMs by real price per GB across 110+ destinations — filtered to where you’re going.

Compare eSIMs →