Buying guideIndependently ranked · 6 picks

Best Travel eSIMs for Costa Rica in 2026

On the live Costa-Rica-country ladder, the eligible 10 GB 30-day dest totals this pass are Ubigi $19, Yesim $20.48, Nomad $25, Sim Local $30, Airalo $34 and Saily $36.99.

Prices on this page are updated daily from live plan data — last refreshed . · How we rank

On the live Costa-Rica-country ladder, the eligible 10 GB 30-day dest totals this pass are Ubigi $19, Yesim $20.48, Nomad $25, Sim Local $30, Airalo $34 and Saily $36.99. Dest publishes no Costa-Rica-country 50 GB SKU, so the GigSky 180-day out rule stays quiet, yet GigSky still sits outside the ranked list because its 10 GB 30-day country total is $39.99. Roamless, aloSIM and ByteSim publish no Costa-Rica-country SKU on dest. Each of the six Costa Rica 10 GB country prices is unique on this pull, so host-name tiebreak stays idle and slots 1-6 stay occupied.

Dest narrative summarises Kolbi (ICE) as the widest national footprint for parks and rural stretches, Liberty as strongest around San Jose, the airport corridor and coastal towns such as Jaco and Tamarindo after the 2023 Movistar absorption, Claro as a third urban and main-road operator, and 5G still early after the early-2025 spectrum auction with most of the country on 4G/LTE. Those lines describe the national MNOs. That dest prose never pins Kolbi, Liberty or Claro onto a ranked programme. Keep it as country context, not a Network(s) proof for any pick.

Costa Rica sits outside the EU and outside the EEA, so a UK or EU domestic SIM that relies on roam-like-at-home inside member states does not carry that protection into Costa Rica. Roaming charges on a home line used in Costa Rica follow the home operator's roaming tariff. Costa-Rica-country prepaid travel eSIM pricing stays storefront-only. Buying a Costa-Rica-country prepaid travel eSIM does not recreate domestic RLAH rights.

The dest 10 GB, 30-day country order among the six ranked picks is Ubigi, Yesim, Nomad, Sim Local, Airalo, Saily. After attach, top-ups run inside the brand app that issued the Costa Rica eSIM.

San Jose evenings on maps plus the GB you spend on Arenal lodge check-ins, Monteverde cloud-forest walks, Manuel Antonio park days, or Pacific and Caribbean coast hops set the size. If that Costa Rica mix is still fuzzy, run Plan Match at /plan-match on this page; if you already know the GB, jump to the six ranked Costa Rica totals below.

In a hurry? Skip to the at-a-glance list. Planning something specific? Use our comparison tool to filter live plans by destination and budget.

The best travel eSIMs at a glance

Our 6 top picks, ranked. Tap one to jump to the full review.

All 6 compared on the same numbers

“Cheapest per GB” is the best value across a provider’s whole Costa Rica range; the columns after it hold the size fixed so providers are compared like for like. All figures come from live plans, refreshed daily. Host network is the local carrier each provider actually rides — the thing that decides how well an eSIM works away from the coast and the big cities.

ProviderHost network in Costa RicaCheapest per GB10 GB20 GBUnlimited, 30 daysDaily fair-use cap
1UbigiLiberty$1.16/GB$1.70/GBNo plan$69Not published
2YesimNot publicly disclosed unconfirmed$1.65/GB$2.05/GB$1.65/GB$91.21Not published
3NomadKolbi ICE / Liberty$1.55/GB$2.50/GB$1.55/GBNone sold—
4Sim LocalKolbi ICE$0.94/GB$3/GB$1.75/GBNone sold—
5AiraloLiberty$1.93/GB$3.20/GB$1.93/GB$893 GB/day
6SailyNot publicly disclosed unconfirmed$2.40/GB$3.70/GB$2.40/GBNone sold—

“No plan” means the provider sells nothing at that size in Costa Rica, not that it is unavailable. Fair-use caps are taken from each provider’s own published policy and cited in the unlimited table below; where a provider publishes no figure we say so rather than estimate one.

1
Cheapest Costa Rica 10 GB 30-day total; dest 25 GB☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Ubigi

FROM$1.16/GB
Host networkLiberty
CoverageLiberty on the product page. Neighbours unnamed.
CodeTRAVELCITY10 for 10% off
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
TRAVELCITY1010% off

Ubigi's Costa Rica Prepaid 10 GB / 30 days product page (cellulardata.ubigi.com Costa Rica 10GB 30-days) names Liberty on the Network(s) coverage block. Partner-list pages are not the cite. Ubigi's Costa Rica 10 GB SKU coverage block stops at Network(s); it never adds a tethering support line, and public Wi-Fi marketing copy does not prove hotspot Yes, so that field stays blank. That SKU allows data sharing. Panama, Nicaragua and Cocos Island stay unnamed as coverage claims on that product page. Americas Prepaid, Best World Prepaid and World Prepaid are different product lines. Dest currently confirms Liberty via a partner-list href, so publish ALIGNs the Confirmed string to the product Network(s) cite.

Dest prints Costa Rica Prepaid 10 GB 30-day at $19 with TRAVELCITY10 10% on the live table. Dest also prints a shorter Ubigi Costa Rica Prepaid 10 GB 7-day at $17 TRAVELCITY10, 3 GB 15-day at $8 TRAVELCITY10, 25 GB 30-day at $29 TRAVELCITY10 (dest's only 25 GB country floor), and unlimited 7-day / 15-day / 30-day Costa Rica Prepaid rows at $26 / $45 / $69 TRAVELCITY10. No dest 3 GB, 5 GB or 20 GB Costa-Rica-country 30-day row for Ubigi this pass. Same provider, same 10 GB, 30 days on the live dest table: Costa Rica Prepaid $19, Americas $48, Best World $39, World $59.

Strengths
  • +Leads the ranked 10 GB 30-day dest ladder at $19
  • +Product page names Liberty
  • +Dest cheapest 25 GB Costa-Rica-country row ($29)
  • +TRAVELCITY10 10% where the dest table prints it on Costa Rica Prepaid rows
  • +Same 10 GB 30-day: Costa Rica Prepaid $19 vs Americas $48 vs Best World $39
  • +Data sharing allowed on the SKU
Limitations
  • −Hotspot tethering line unpublished on the Costa Rica 10 GB product page
  • −No Ubigi 3 GB, 5 GB or 20 GB 30-day Costa-Rica-country row on dest
  • −Unlimited 30-day FUP Not published on dest
  • −Neighbours unnamed as coverage on the product page
  • −Partner list is not used as a host cite
  • −No Costa-Rica-country 50 GB row on dest this pass
Verdict · Liberty on the Costa Rica Prepaid Network(s) block puts Ubigi at $19 on the ranked 10 GB ladder, with the same Prepaid line also alone on dest's 25 GB country floor.
Buy Ubigi →
2
Second at 10 GB 30-day dest total; dest 1 GB / 3 GB / 5 GB☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Yesim

FROM$1.65/GB
Host networkNot publicly disclosed
CoverageMNO Confirming. City list San Jose / Liberia / Puerto Limon and other Costa Rica cities. Neighbours unnamed.
HotspotDepends on operator
CodeTRAVELCITY 15% on the dest row
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
TRAVELCITY15% off

Yesim's Costa Rica shop technical specs print Hotspot: Depends on operator. Only an explicit shop or SKU hotspot field counts as Yes; brand marketing on its own does not. Destinations operators payload on this retrieve does not publish a Kolbi / Liberty / Claro host string, so the MNO host stays Confirming / unpublished. Coverage city list: Alajuela, Buenos Aires, Cartago, Heredia, Liberia, Puerto Limon, Puntarenas, San Jose, and other cities in Costa Rica. About-page nods to SwitchLess Networks stay marketing; they are not an operators cite. Panama, Nicaragua and Cocos Island stay unnamed on that city list. Yesim soft-check this pass: dest live 10 GB 30-day totals $20.48 with TRAVELCITY; the uncoded shop list still shows $25.20 for 10 GB / 30 days. Gate ranking on the dest JSON total.

Dest live-table Yesim 10 GB 30-day prints $20.48 with TRAVELCITY 15%. Dest also prints Yesim 1 GB 30-day at $4.93 TRAVELCITY, dest's cheapest 1 GB cell, Yesim 3 GB 30-day at $8.94 TRAVELCITY, dest's cheapest 3 GB cell, Yesim 5 GB 30-day at $14.90 TRAVELCITY, dest's cheapest 5 GB cell, and Yesim 20 GB 30-day at $33 TRAVELCITY. Unlimited 30-day is $91.21 TRAVELCITY with dest printing Not published for FUP. Day-count unlimited rows also run on dest; no Yesim 25 GB or 50 GB 30-day Costa-Rica-country row this pass.

Strengths
  • +Second-cheapest ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($20.48)
  • +City list printed on the country shop
  • +TRAVELCITY 15% printed on dest Yesim Costa Rica rows
  • +Owns dest's printed 1 GB, 3 GB and 5 GB cheapest-at-size cells ($4.93 / $8.94 / $14.90)
  • +Publishes a full capped 1/3/5/10/20 GB 30-day country ladder on dest
Limitations
  • −Hotspot specs say Depends on operator
  • −Network line still Confirming with no Kolbi / Liberty / Claro host string
  • −10 GB dest total sits above Ubigi
  • −No Yesim 25 GB or 50 GB 30-day Costa-Rica-country row on dest
  • −City list stops at Costa Rica cities; neighbours stay unnamed
  • −Soft-watch shop list $25.20 vs dest $20.48
Verdict · TRAVELCITY brings Yesim's live dest 10 GB total to $20.48 against a shop plate of $25.20, operators stay unpublished this pass, and hotspot stays Depends on operator while the brand owns the printed 1 GB, 3 GB and 5 GB country cells.
Buy Yesim →
3
Third at 10 GB 30-day dest total; dest 20 GB☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Nomad

FROM$1.55/GB
Host networkKolbi ICE / Liberty
CoverageKolbi ICE / Liberty on the shop; mask both. San Jose / Tamarindo / Monteverde inside Costa Rica. Neighbours unnamed.
HotspotYes on the shop FAQ
CodeDest prints ATESIM 20% on the 10 GB row. Programme excludes sale, unlimited, Thailand 50 GB, plans under USD 5
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
ATESIM20% off

Nomad's Costa Rica shop prints Network for Costa Rica: Kolbi ICE / Liberty. SKU mask_network names Kolbi ICE (71201_CR) and Liberty (71204_CR), types 4G. Hotspot FAQ: Yes, Nomad's eSIMs support tethering / hotspot. Overseas-territory hedge on the shop: coverage may omit overseas territories governed by the named country. Shop tourist-city copy names San Jose, Tamarindo and Monteverde inside Costa Rica. Panama, Nicaragua and Cocos Island stay unnamed as separate Costa-Rica-country coverage on that shop. Dest host table this pull still prints Not publicly disclosed / Confirming for Nomad, so the shop/SKU cite seeds an UPDATE.

Dest prints Local Costa Rica 10 GB 30-day at $25 with ATESIM 20%. Dest also prints Nomad 3 GB 30-day at $16 ATESIM, Nomad 5 GB 30-day at $19 ATESIM and Nomad 20 GB 30-day at $31 ATESIM (dest's cheapest 20 GB cell). Unlimited Local Costa Rica rows on dest stop at 5-day and 10-day. No dest 25 GB or 50 GB Costa-Rica-country row for Nomad this pass. No dest unlimited 30-day Costa-Rica-country row for Nomad this pass.

Strengths
  • +Third-cheapest ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($25)
  • +Shop names Kolbi ICE / Liberty; mask_network both; hotspot FAQ yes
  • +ATESIM 20% where the dest table prints it on eligible capped rows
  • +Owns dest's printed 20 GB cheapest-at-size cell ($31)
  • +Overseas-territory hedge printed on the shop
  • +City marketing for San Jose, Tamarindo and Monteverde on the shop
Limitations
  • −Dest host row needs UPDATE from Confirming / undisclosed to Kolbi ICE / Liberty on publish
  • −No unlimited 30-day Costa-Rica-country row on dest
  • −No 25 GB or 50 GB 30-day country row on dest
  • −Neighbours unnamed as Costa-Rica-country coverage on the shop
  • −10 GB dest total sits above Ubigi and Yesim
Verdict · Local Costa Rica 10 GB clears $25 ATESIM with Kolbi ICE and Liberty on both the shop Network line and the 71201_CR / 71204_CR masks, hotspot yes in the FAQ, and dest's 20 GB country cell on the same Local line.
Buy Nomad →
4
Fourth at 10 GB 30-day dest total☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Sim Local

FROM$0.94/GB
Host networkKolbi ICE
CoverageKolbi ICE on the 10 GB SKU. Neighbours unnamed.
HotspotYes on those SKUs
CodeATESIM 10% on the dest row
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
ATESIM10% off

Sim Local's Costa Rica 10 GB for 30 Days SKU page (ESFX-0323-SL1) prints Networks Kolbi ICE and networks_used Kolbi ICE. Hotspot and tethering: Yes. Local phone number: No. SKU coverage copy expects solid signal in big towns and built-up areas, and warns that remote or thinly settled ground (mountains, parks, countryside) can see weaker signal and slower speeds. Coverage copy on that SKU stays inside Costa Rica and does not name Panama, Nicaragua or Cocos Island as separate coverage. Dest host table skips Sim Local on this pull, so the SKU Networks line seeds an ADD. Orange Holiday World rows on dest are regional, not Costa-Rica-country ranking floors.

Dest prints Costa Rica 10 GB for 30 Days at $30 with ATESIM 10%. That ATESIM 10% band excludes unlimited, add-ons, business, sale, Thailand 50 GB, and sub-USD 5 plans. That Costa Rica 10 GB 30-day SKU clears the USD 5 ATESIM floor. Dest also prints Sim Local Costa Rica 5 GB 30-day at $22 ATESIM, Costa Rica 18 GB at $27 ATESIM and Costa Rica 20 GB 30-day at $36.75 ATESIM. Shorter dest rows include Costa Rica 1 GB for 3 Days at $7.50 ATESIM and Costa Rica 3 GB for 7 Days at $13.25 ATESIM. No dest 25 GB or 50 GB Costa-Rica-country row for Sim Local this pass. No dest unlimited 30-day Costa-Rica-country row for Sim Local this pass (unlimited 7-day and 15-day rows exist).

Strengths
  • +Fourth-cheapest ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($30)
  • +SKU names Kolbi ICE; Hotspot and tethering Yes
  • +ATESIM 10% where the dest table prints it on eligible capped rows
  • +Fills fourth without padding Maya, Holafly or GigSky
  • +Clear city-versus-remote coverage hedge on the SKU
Limitations
  • −10 GB dest total sits above Ubigi, Yesim and Nomad
  • −No unlimited 30-day Costa-Rica-country row on dest
  • −No 25 GB or 50 GB 30-day country row on dest
  • −Absent from dest host table until ADD on publish
  • −Neighbours unnamed as coverage on the SKU
Verdict · The Costa Rica 10 GB SKU keeps Kolbi ICE as the only Networks entry, Hotspot and tethering Yes, and a $30 dest total that sits five dollars above Nomad.
Buy Sim Local →
5
Fifth at 10 GB 30-day dest total☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Airalo

FROM$1.93/GB
Host networkLiberty
CoverageLiberty first-network; package Liberty. Neighbours unnamed.

Airalo's Costa Rica shop first-network block names Liberty (Shows primary network the eSIM uses). Package copy also prints Operates on the Liberty network in Costa Rica. This retrieve has no hotspot Yes field. Tethering-uses-the-pot wording still fails the hotspot Yes test. Panama, Nicaragua and Cocos Island stay unnamed as separate coverage on that shop. The same Airalo Costa Rica shop page also carries Hot Telecom+ Claro package lines for voice/SMS SKUs; the ranked 10 GB data-only cite stays Liberty. Dest currently prints Confirming / Not publicly disclosed for Airalo, so publish UPDATEs Confirmed Liberty from the shop.

Dest prints Airalo 10 GB Costa Rica travel eSIM valid for 30 days at $34 with no promo code. Dest also prints Airalo 5 GB 30-day at $26.50, 20 GB 30-day at $40.50, and unlimited 30-day at $89 (3 GB/day then 1 Mbps on dest). Dest also carries Airalo 10 GB Costa Rica rows that expire at 7 days and at 15 days. No dest 3 GB, 25 GB or 50 GB 30-day Costa-Rica-country row for Airalo this pass.

Strengths
  • +Fifth ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($34)
  • +Shop first-network names Liberty; package names Liberty
  • +Publishes 5 GB, 10 GB, 20 GB and unlimited 30-day Costa-Rica-country rows on dest
  • +Short 7-day and 15-day 10 GB country rows on dest
  • +Sits inside the six without padding Maya, Holafly or GigSky
Limitations
  • −10 GB dest total sits above Ubigi, Yesim, Nomad and Sim Local
  • −Hotspot line unpublished on the Costa Rica shop retrieve this pass
  • −Unlimited 30-day country total sits behind Ubigi
  • −Ranked 10 GB dest row carries no promo code this pass
  • −Neighbours unnamed as coverage on the shop
  • −No Costa-Rica-country 50 GB row on dest
Verdict · Liberty as first-network and the package line Operates on the Liberty network in Costa Rica leave Airalo fifth at $34 on data-only 10 GB, with capped rows through 20 GB and an unlimited 30-day country total at $89.
Buy Airalo →
6
Sixth at 10 GB 30-day dest total☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Saily

FROM$2.40/GB
Host networkNot publicly disclosed
CoverageMNO Confirming. Neighbours unnamed.
HotspotNo hotspot restrictions on the shop

Saily's Costa Rica shop Network line prints Reliable connection from Costa Rica's best networks and does not name Kolbi, Liberty or Claro as host, so the MNO host stays Confirming / unpublished. Hotspot: No hotspot restrictions or limitations. Marketing copy on that retrieve does not name Panama, Nicaragua or Cocos Island as coverage claims for the Costa Rica plan (separate destination pages in the country picker are not CR-plan coverage).

Saily's dest 10 GB 30-day total is $36.99. Saily Costa-Rica-country dest rows carry no promo code this pass. Saily's 3 GB 30-day dest total is $18.99, behind Yesim $8.94 and Nomad $16. Saily's 5 GB 30-day dest total is $26.99, behind Yesim $14.90. Saily's 20 GB 30-day dest total is $47.99, behind Nomad $31. No dest unlimited, 25 GB or 50 GB Costa-Rica-country row for Saily this pass.

Strengths
  • +Sixth ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($36.99)
  • +Shop hotspot line: No hotspot restrictions or limitations
  • +Publishes 3 GB, 5 GB, 10 GB and 20 GB 30-day Costa-Rica-country rows on dest
  • +Sits inside the six without padding Maya, Holafly or GigSky
Limitations
  • −Network line still Confirming with no Kolbi / Liberty / Claro host string
  • −10 GB dest total sits behind the other five ranked picks
  • −Wins no printed cheapest-at-size cell on the 30-day Costa-Rica-country ladder
  • −No unlimited 30-day Costa-Rica-country row on dest
  • −Ranked 10 GB dest row carries no promo code this pass
Verdict · At $36.99 on dest's Costa Rica 10 GB / 30-day cell, Saily is the dearest of the six, still Confirming on host, with shop hotspot marked unrestricted and no size band where it undercuts the other country rows.
Buy Saily →
What it actually costs

What Costa Rica data actually costs

Costa Rica travel eSIM prices look random until you convert every plan to one number: the real cost per gigabyte. Here is what that reveals right now.

The cheapest plan at each size, 30 days

DataCheapest providerTotalPrice per GB
50 GBSim Local$70.25$1.41/GBGet plan ↗🏷 10% off with code ATESIM
25 GBUbigi$29$1.16/GBGet plan ↗🏷 10% off with code TRAVELCITY10
20 GBNomad$31$1.55/GBGet plan ↗🏷 20% off with code ATESIM
10 GBUbigi$19$1.90/GBGet plan ↗🏷 10% off with code TRAVELCITY10
5 GBYesim$14.76$2.95/GBGet plan ↗🏷 15% off with code TRAVELCITY
1 GBYesim$4.88$4.88/GBGet plan ↗🏷 15% off with code TRAVELCITY

Cost per GB rises from $1.41/GB at 50 GB to $4.88/GB at 1 GB. Buying a little more data than you expect to use is almost always cheaper per gigabyte than buying exactly what you need.

The "unlimited" trap

The same words, unlimited for 30 days, cover a wide price range, and most plans slow down after a daily threshold that the label hides.

ProviderUnlimited, 30 daysFair-use cap
Maya$49.993 GB/day, then 10 Mbps sourceGet plan ↗🏷 10% off with code ATESIM
Ubigi$69Not publishedGet plan ↗🏷 10% off with code TRAVELCITY10
GigSky$74.992.5 GB/day, then reduced, but not below 100 kbps sourceGet plan ↗🏷 15% off with code ATESIM
Airalo$893 GB/day, then 1 Mbps sourceGet plan ↗
Yesim$91.21Not publishedGet plan ↗🏷 15% off with code TRAVELCITY

Unlimited 30 day plans run from $49.99 to $91.21, a spread of about 82 percent, for a label that means the same thing on paper. Check the daily cap before you buy, especially if you plan to tether a laptop.

Do not overpay for coverage you will not use

If your whole trip is in Costa Rica, a Costa Rica only plan is far cheaper per gigabyte than a North America or global plan carrying the same data. Same provider (Sim Local), same 20 GB, 30 days:

Sim Local planPricePrice per GB
Costa Rica only$36.75$1.84/GBGet plan ↗🏷 10% off with code ATESIM
North America$35$1.75/GBGet plan ↗🏷 10% off with code ATESIM
Global$35$1.75/GBGet plan ↗🏷 10% off with code ATESIM

A Costa Rica only plan costs much less per gigabyte than a regional or global plan with the same data. Only pay for the wider plan if you are actually crossing borders on this trip.

The bottom line

Ubigi is cheapest on the ranked 10 GB 30-day dest ladder at $19 with Liberty, and also holds dest's 25 GB Costa-Rica-country cell. Yesim is second at 10 GB with operators still Confirming, and owns the 1 GB, 3 GB and 5 GB cells. Nomad is third at 10 GB on Kolbi ICE / Liberty with hotspot yes and dest's 20 GB cell. Sim Local is fourth at 10 GB on Kolbi ICE with hotspot Yes and needs an ADD on the dest host table. Airalo is fifth on 10 GB; Liberty is the primary network on the shop for the data-only cite. Saily closes sixth on 10 GB with the host still Confirming and shop hotspot marked unrestricted. GigSky is not 180-day-out and still sits outside the six at $39.99 on 10 GB. Maya is out. Roamless, aloSIM and ByteSim publish no Costa-Rica-country SKU on dest. Hosts: Ubigi Liberty on the Costa Rica Prepaid product page (ALIGN drops partner-list href); Yesim Confirming; Nomad Kolbi ICE / Liberty on the shop (UPDATE from Confirming); Sim Local Kolbi ICE on the 10 GB SKU (ADD); Airalo Liberty first-network (UPDATE from Confirming); Saily Confirming. GigSky: unpublished on the shop. Nomad FAQ, the Sim Local SKU, and Saily's shop each print an explicit hotspot Yes. GigSky hotspotBody Unlimited use included. Yesim Depends on operator. Ubigi's Costa Rica Prepaid page and Airalo's Costa Rica shop still omit a hotspot Yes field on this retrieve.

Yesim names Costa Rica cities on the city list. Nomad prints San Jose, Tamarindo and Monteverde inside Costa Rica and an overseas-territory hedge. Ubigi, Sim Local, Airalo, Saily and GigSky leave Panama, Nicaragua and Cocos Island empty as coverage claims beyond the country label. Costa Rica sits outside EU/EEA; RLAH does not apply, while travel eSIM rows stay storefront-priced.

Plan Match is /plan-match.

Still weighing it up for a specific destination? Our travel eSIM comparison toolranks live plans by real price per GB, filtered to exactly where you’re going.

Frequently asked questions

Does a Costa-Rica-country eSIM cover Panama, Nicaragua or Cocos Island as separate coverage?

Keep Panama, Nicaragua and Cocos Island coverage empty for every ranked pick unless that shop names the place. Yesim city list: Alajuela, Buenos Aires, Cartago, Heredia, Liberia, Puerto Limon, Puntarenas, San Jose and other cities in Costa Rica; neighbours unnamed. Nomad shop: overseas territories may be excluded; San Jose, Tamarindo and Monteverde named as tourist cities inside Costa Rica; neighbours unnamed as Costa-Rica-country coverage. Ubigi Costa Rica product page: Liberty; neighbours unnamed. Sim Local Costa Rica 10 GB SKU: Kolbi ICE; neighbours unnamed. Airalo: Liberty first-network; neighbours unnamed. Saily and GigSky: unnamed. Do not invent cross-border coverage from Kolbi, Liberty or Claro presence alone.

Can I tether or use a hotspot?

Nomad Costa Rica shop FAQ: Yes, Nomad's eSIMs support tethering / hotspot. Sim Local Costa Rica 10 GB SKU: Hotspot and tethering Yes. Saily shop: No hotspot restrictions or limitations. GigSky shop: hotspotBody Unlimited use included. Yesim specs: Depends on operator. Ubigi Costa Rica 10 GB product page: no tethering support line this pass. Airalo's Costa Rica shop retrieve this pass shows no hotspot Yes field. Copy about hotspot draining the allowance still fails the hotspot Yes test, so the cell stays empty.

Which network will I actually use?

Ubigi Costa Rica product page: Liberty. Nomad Costa Rica shop: Kolbi ICE / Liberty (SKU mask_network Kolbi ICE 71201_CR and Liberty 71204_CR). Sim Local Costa Rica 10 GB SKU: Kolbi ICE. Airalo shop: Liberty first-network; package Operates on the Liberty network in Costa Rica. GigSky: unpublished on the shop. Saily and Yesim still publish no named MNO on the Costa Rica Network field this pass (Confirming). Listing programme brands in a dest Network Partners cell still fails as a shop host cite. The partner list page is not the Ubigi host cite. On a dest-vs-shop host clash, the shop or SKU string wins and the dest host SET moves with it. Dest currently confirms Ubigi via a partner-list href; publish ALIGNs Confirmed Liberty to the product Network(s) cite. Dest currently prints Nomad and Airalo as Confirming; publish UPDATEs those rows from the shops. Dest omits Sim Local; publish ADDs Confirmed Kolbi ICE.

Does ATESIM apply on this corridor?

ATESIM still skips unlimited, add-ons, business, sale, Thailand 50 GB, and anything under USD 5. Dest prints ATESIM on Nomad Costa Rica capped rows at 20%, Sim Local Costa Rica capped rows at 10%, and GigSky Costa Rica capped rows at 15%. ATESIM does not appear on the ranked Saily or Airalo 10 GB dest cells this pass. Yesim's ranked Costa Rica rows use TRAVELCITY 15% instead of ATESIM. Ubigi's ranked Costa Rica Prepaid rows use TRAVELCITY10 10%.

Why does GigSky sit outside the Costa Rica six without the 180-day out rule removing it?

This pass the Costa-Rica-country 10 GB 30-day programme ladder reads Ubigi $19, Yesim $20.48, Nomad $25, Sim Local $30, Airalo $34, then Saily $36.99. GigSky's Costa Rica-country 10 GB 30-day dest total is $39.99 ATESIM, which is seventh. Only six programmes make the ranked ladder, which leaves GigSky's seventh-place 10 GB total off the page. The 180-day cut only drops GigSky when dest's cheapest Costa-Rica-country 50 GB SKU is a GigSky 180-day row; no Costa-Rica-country 50 GB SKU appears on dest this pass. GigSky publishes no Costa-Rica-country 50 GB row on dest this pass.

Does roam-like-at-home cover a Costa Rica visit?

Costa Rica is not in the EU and is not in the EEA. RLAH that applies inside EU/EEA member states does not cover Costa Rica. A UK or EU domestic SIM used in Costa Rica is billed on roaming terms. A home line on roaming tariffs is billed by that operator; the prepaid travel eSIM totals here are storefront prices. The Costa-Rica-country travel eSIM prices here do not grant RLAH.

Which phones work with a Costa Rica travel eSIM?

Phones that already take an eSIM profile (including most current dual-SIM models) can run these Costa Rica plans. Confirm eSIM support on the provider's compatibility list for your exact phone model and lock state before paying. Costa Rica visitors often keep a home line active for WhatsApp while the travel eSIM carries data on Kolbi, Liberty or Claro depending on the pick. Skip any fixed roster of flagship years here; check the seller's own eSIM compatibility tool for your handset and carrier lock. ### Comparison matrix "No plan" means dest lists no Costa-Rica-country SKU at that size and duration on this pull. Prices are live dest Costa-Rica-country totals. | Provider | Host | 10 GB 30d | 5 GB 30d | 20 GB 30d | Unlimited 30d | Hotspot | |---|---|---|---|---|---|---| | Ubigi | Liberty | $19 TRAVELCITY10 | No plan | No plan | $69 TRAVELCITY10 | Unpublished | | Yesim | Confirming | $20.48 TRAVELCITY | $14.90 TRAVELCITY | $33 TRAVELCITY | $91.21 TRAVELCITY | Depends on operator | | Nomad | Kolbi ICE / Liberty | $25 ATESIM | $19 ATESIM | $31 ATESIM | No plan | Yes (shop FAQ) | | Sim Local | Kolbi ICE | $30 ATESIM | $22 ATESIM | $36.75 ATESIM | No plan | Yes (SKU) | | Airalo | Liberty | $34 | $26.50 | $40.50 | $89 | Unpublished | | Saily | Confirming | $36.99 | $26.99 | $47.99 | No plan | Yes (shop: no restrictions) | GigSky Costa-Rica-country 10 GB 30-day $39.99 ATESIM sits outside the six. Maya Global unlimited-style rows are out. ### Promo codes (as dest prints) | Code | Where dest prints it this pass | Notes | |---|---|---| | TRAVELCITY10 | Ubigi Costa Rica Prepaid rows | 10% on dest | | TRAVELCITY | Yesim Costa Rica rows | 15% on dest | | ATESIM | Nomad Local Costa Rica capped rows (20%); Sim Local Costa Rica capped rows (10%); GigSky Costa Rica capped rows (15%) | Programme exclusions: unlimited, add-ons, business, sale, Thailand 50 GB, plans under USD 5 | | (none) | Airalo and Saily ranked 10 GB dest cells | Dest prints no code on those rows this pass | Do not label codes Promo unless dest does. Codes only where dest prints them.

See these ranked for your destination

Compare 14,000+ travel eSIMs by real price per GB across 110+ destinations — filtered to where you’re going.

Compare eSIMs →