Buying guideIndependently ranked · 6 picks

Best Travel eSIMs for Portugal in 2026

Six Portugal travel eSIMs, ranked on the 30-day country-plan price at the size you would buy. At 10 GB on the live table that is Sim Local $9.75, Airalo $11, Ubigi $11, Nomad $16, Saily $16.99, Yesim $17.21.

Prices on this page are updated daily from live plan data — last refreshed . · How we rank

Six Portugal travel eSIMs, ranked on the 30-day country-plan price at the size you would buy. At 10 GB on the live table that is Sim Local $9.75, Airalo $11, Ubigi $11, Nomad $16, Saily $16.99, Yesim $17.21. Named host is the tiebreak. Airalo and Ubigi meet at $11; Airalo is cheaper at 5 GB.

Opensignal has not published a standalone Portugal country report after July 2023. That July 2023 report (90 days from 1 March to 29 May 2023) gave NOS Download Speed Experience at 55.7 Mbps, MEO 49.1 Mbps, Vodafone 34.8 Mbps. Consistent Quality sat at 77.9 percent for NOS, 77.1 percent for MEO, 76.3 percent for Vodafone. MEO took 5G Download Speed at 306.4 Mbps. The Mobile Network Experience European Awards 2026 page names MEO, NOS and Vodafone as the Portuguese operators in that awards set. The awards window is the second half of 2025 (1 July to 29 December 2025). Individual 2026 Portugal scores were not retrieved from that page this pass. ANACOM's 4th quarter 2025 mobile-services note, published 17 March 2026, puts active mobile accesses with actual use (excluding M2M) at MEO 36.0 percent, NOS 31.1 percent, Vodafone 27.6 percent, DIGI/NOWO 3.3 percent, Lycamobile 2.0 percent.

Portugal is in the EU 27. Spain is too (European Commission roaming page and Your Europe). Gibraltar is not on that EU list. Your Europe says roam-like-at-home also covers the EEA plus Moldova and Ukraine, and that other countries are not covered. No first-party shop named a Spanish or Gibraltarian latch on a Portugal-country SKU this pass, so those cells stay empty. The same Commission page says non-terrestrial networks on boats and planes are not covered by roam-like-at-home. A Portugal-only plan is not a ferry or flight plan. Download maps and tickets before you leave the dock.

Nomad's Portugal shop warns that coverage may not include overseas territories. That shop markets Lisbon, Porto and Aveiro. It does not print Madeira, the Azores or Porto Santo. Airalo's same-origin package payload says coverage also includes Madeira and the Azores. That list is Airalo's. Sim Local's 5, 10 and 20 GB country SKUs print coverage as Portugal and do not name the islands. Ubigi SKUs, Yesim's country shop and Saily (shop blocked this pass) do not name them. Smartroam SKUs on Sim Local name Madeira and the Azores; those are a different product line and are not this ranking.

The order is 10 GB 30-day totals on the live Portugal table. Airalo and Ubigi meet at $11; Airalo is cheaper at 5 GB, so it sits above Ubigi. Top-ups stay in the provider app once you are on a Portuguese network.

If the trip length and data size are already known, skip to the plans. If they are not, Plan Match at /plan-match asks both.

In a hurry? Skip to the at-a-glance list. Planning something specific? Use our comparison tool to filter live plans by destination and budget.

The best travel eSIMs at a glance

Our 6 top picks, ranked. Tap one to jump to the full review.

All 6 compared on the same numbers

“Cheapest per GB” is the best value across a provider’s whole Portugal range; the columns after it hold the size fixed so providers are compared like for like. All figures come from live plans, refreshed daily. Host network is the local carrier each provider actually rides — the thing that decides how well an eSIM works away from the coast and the big cities.

ProviderHost network in PortugalCheapest per GB10 GB20 GBUnlimited, 30 daysDaily fair-use cap
1Sim LocalMEO, Vodafone, NOS$0.74/GB$0.98/GB$0.74/GBNone sold
2AiraloNOS + Vodafone + MEO$0.70/GB$1/GB$0.93/GB$693 GB/day
3UbigiMeo (TMN)$0.70/GB$0.90/GBNo plan$48Not published
4NomadMEO / Vodafone / Sonaecom$0.90/GB$1.60/GB$1/GBNone sold
5SailyNot publicly disclosed unconfirmed$1.40/GB$1.70/GB$1.40/GB$71.995 GB/day
6YesimNot publicly disclosed unconfirmed$0.96/GB$1.72/GB$1.23/GB$65.81Not published

“No plan” means the provider sells nothing at that size in Portugal, not that it is unavailable. Fair-use caps are taken from each provider’s own published policy and cited in the unlimited table below; where a provider publishes no figure we say so rather than estimate one.

1
Best 5 GB, 10 GB and 20 GB 30-day price☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Sim Local

FROM$0.74/GB
Host networkMEO, Vodafone, NOS (5/10/20 GB SKUs)
CoverageCountry SKUs print Portugal. Madeira and the Azores unnamed
HotspotYes on those SKUs
CodeATESIM 10% on the dest row
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
ATESIM10% off

Sim Local is the cheapest 30-day row at 5 GB ($7.75), 10 GB ($9.75) and 20 GB ($14.75). Those three dest totals are the ranking source. The 5 GB SKU, 10 GB SKU and 20 GB SKU name MEO, Vodafone, NOS. The same SKUs print hotspot and tethering: yes. Coverage on those SKUs is Portugal. They do not name Madeira or the Azores.

ATESIM is 10% off where the dest table prints it. Live-table 10 GB 30-day is $9.75, the cheapest 10 GB country row this pass. There is no 25 GB or 50 GB 30-day Portugal-country row. Unlimited dest rows for Sim Local are 7-day and 15-day, not 30-day. Orange Holiday World and Smartroam sit on the same site. They are not Portugal-country dest cheapest SKUs.

Strengths
  • +Cheapest 5 GB, 10 GB and 20 GB 30-day rows on the live Portugal table
  • +5/10/20 GB SKUs name MEO, Vodafone, NOS
  • +Hotspot and tethering yes on those SKUs
Limitations
  • No 25 GB or 50 GB 30-day country row
  • Country SKUs do not name Madeira or the Azores
  • Shop list prices on the 5 GB and 10 GB SKUs this pass sat above the dest totals
Verdict · Dest 5 GB, 10 GB and 20 GB wins, with MEO, Vodafone, NOS on the country SKUs.
Buy Sim Local
2
Best 50 GB 30-day price☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Airalo

FROM$0.70/GB
Host networkNOS, Vodafone and MEO (shop payload)
CoveragePayload names Madeira and the Azores. Porto Santo unnamed
HotspotNot stated on the Portugal shop or payload

Airalo's Portugal shop UI names NOS as the primary network, with +2 others. The same-origin package payload for the 10 GB 30-day SKU says it operates on the NOS, Vodafone, and MEO networks in Portugal. That payload also says coverage also includes Madeira and the Azores. Hotspot is not stated on that shop or payload, so it is omitted.

Airalo is the cheapest 30-day row at 50 GB on the dest cheapest-at-size table, $35, $0.70 per GB. Ubigi's 50 GB 30-day is also $35. Dest lists Airalo. Live-table 10 GB 30-day is $11, tied with Ubigi. Live-table 20 GB 30-day is $19. Live-table 5 GB 30-day is $9. Unlimited 30-day is $69 with dest and Airalo payload printing 3 GB/day then 1 Mbps. Fofo Mobil 10 GB 30-day dest rows at $17 are a second Airalo line. They are not the dest cheapest 10 GB SKU.

Strengths
  • +Dest cheapest 50 GB 30-day country row
  • +Shop payload names NOS, Vodafone and MEO
  • +Payload names Madeira and the Azores
  • +Unlimited 30-day exists on the live table with a printed daily cap
Limitations
  • Hotspot not stated on the Portugal shop or payload
  • 10 GB 30-day dest total matches Ubigi at $11
  • Not the cheapest 30-day row at 5, 10 or 20 GB
Verdict · $35 at 50 GB for 30 days, and NOS plus Vodafone and MEO on the package payload.
Buy Airalo
3
Best 3 GB and 25 GB 30-day price☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Ubigi

FROM$0.70/GB
Host networkMeo (TMN) (10 GB and 25 GB SKUs)
CoverageIslands not named on the SKUs this pass
HotspotData sharing allowed on those SKUs
Unlimited, 30 days$48, daily cap not printed
CodeTRAVELCITY10 for 10% off
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
TRAVELCITY1010% off

Ubigi is the cheapest 30-day row at 3 GB ($6) and at 25 GB ($28). The 10 GB 30-day SKU names Meo (TMN). The 25 GB 30-day SKU names the same host. The all-destination rates listing does not name the Portugal host on the fetched page. Those SKUs say data sharing is allowed.

Unlimited 30-day on the live table is $48 with no printed daily cap. Do not read a daily GB into that row.

Same provider, same 50 GB, 30 days on the live dest table: Portugal $35, Europe $54. TRAVELCITY10 is 10% off where the dest table prints it. There is no 5 GB or 20 GB 30-day Portugal country row on the live table. Live-table 10 GB 30-day is $11.

Strengths
  • +Cheapest 3 GB and 25 GB 30-day rows on the live Portugal table
  • +10 GB and 25 GB 30-day SKUs name Meo (TMN)
  • +Same 50 GB 30-day: Portugal $35, Ubigi Europe $54
  • +Data sharing allowed on those SKUs
Limitations
  • Rates listing page did not name a host this pass
  • Unlimited daily cap not printed on the 30-day dest row
  • No 5 GB or 20 GB 30-day country row
Verdict · Buy Ubigi when 3 GB or 25 GB for 30 days is the size. Meo (TMN) is on the SKU.
Buy Ubigi
4
Shop-named MEO / Vodafone / Sonaecom☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Nomad

FROM$0.90/GB
Host networkMEO / Vodafone / Sonaecom (shop)
CoverageOverseas territories not claimed. Shop markets Lisbon, Porto, Aveiro
HotspotYes on the Portugal shop FAQ
CodeATESIM 20% off
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
ATESIM20% off

Nomad's Portugal shop names MEO / Vodafone / Sonaecom. The same page FAQ prints: Yes, Nomad's eSIMs support tethering / hotspot. Coverage may not include overseas territories. The shop markets Lisbon, Porto and Aveiro. Madeira, the Azores and Porto Santo are not on that page.

Nomad does not win a 30-day dest size band this pass. Live-table 50 GB 30-day is $45, behind Airalo and Ubigi at $35. Live-table 10 GB 30-day is $16. Live-table 20 GB 30-day is $20.

Same provider, same 50 GB, 30 days, on the dest comparison table: Portugal only $45, Europe $35, Global $129. ATESIM is 20% off where the dest table prints it. It does not apply to unlimited, add-ons, business, sale, Thailand 50 GB, or plans under USD 5. Unlimited on this shop is 3, 5, 7 and 10 days. There is no 30-day unlimited country row.

Strengths
  • +Shop names MEO / Vodafone / Sonaecom
  • +Hotspot supported on the Portugal shop FAQ
  • +Dest table prints a Portugal / Europe / Global 50 GB 30-day comparison
Limitations
  • Not a cheapest-at-size winner on the 30-day dest country table
  • Overseas territories not claimed
  • No 30-day unlimited country row
  • Portugal 50 GB costs more than Nomad Europe 50 GB on that dest table
Verdict · MEO, Vodafone and Sonaecom on the shop. Price at 10 GB and 50 GB sits behind Sim Local, Airalo and Ubigi.
Buy Nomad
5
Dest 10 GB row, shop Confirming☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Saily

FROM$1.40/GB
Host networkNot publicly disclosed
CoverageIslands unnamed. Shop blocked this pass
HotspotNot stated (Portugal shop blocked this pass)
Unlimited, 30 days$71.99, 5 GB/day then 1 Mbps

Saily's Portugal shop returned a Cloudflare challenge this pass. The host stays unpublished. Hotspot stays empty. Island names stay empty. Do not copy another country's Saily hotspot line onto Portugal.

It is not the cheapest 30-day row at 1, 3, 5, 10, 20, 25 or 50 GB. Live-table 10 GB 30-day is $16.99. Live-table 20 GB 30-day is $27.99. Unlimited 30-day on the live table is $71.99 with a 5 GB/day cap, then 1 Mbps.

Strengths
  • +10 GB, 20 GB and unlimited 30-day country rows exist on the live dest table
  • +Dest prints a daily cap on the unlimited 30-day row
Limitations
  • Portugal shop blocked this pass, so host, hotspot and islands are unpublished
  • Not a cheapest-at-size winner
Verdict · A dest 10 GB row at $16.99, with the shop still Confirming.
Buy Saily
6
Best 1 GB and 30 GB 30-day price☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Yesim

FROM$0.96/GB
Host networkNot publicly disclosed
CoverageCity list on the shop. Madeira and the Azores unnamed
HotspotDepends on the operator
CodeTRAVELCITY for 15% off
Unlimited, 30 days$65.81, dest daily cap unpublished
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
TRAVELCITY15% off

Yesim is the cheapest 30-day row at 1 GB ($3.44) and at 30 GB ($28.69). The Portugal shop did not name a host, so the host stays unpublished. SwitchLess Networks is policy, not a carrier. Specs say hotspot depends on the operator. That is not a yes. The shop lists cities (Lisbon, Porto and others) and does not name Madeira or the Azores.

TRAVELCITY is 15% off where the dest table prints it. Live-table 10 GB 30-day is $17.21, the dearest 10 GB row among the six. Live-table 20 GB 30-day is $24.67. Unlimited 30-day is $65.81 with dest printing no daily cap. Do not invent one.

Strengths
  • +Cheapest 1 GB and 30 GB 30-day rows on the live Portugal table
  • +TRAVELCITY 15% where the dest table prints it
  • +City list printed on the country shop
Limitations
  • No Portuguese host on the product page
  • Hotspot depends on the operator
  • Not the cheapest 30-day row at 5, 10, 20, 25 or 50 GB
Verdict · Cheapest at 1 GB and 30 GB for 30 days. From 5 GB through 20 GB, read Sim Local first.
Buy Yesim
What it actually costs

What Portugal data actually costs

Portugal travel eSIM prices look random until you convert every plan to one number: the real cost per gigabyte. Here is what that reveals right now.

The cheapest plan at each size, 30 days

DataCheapest providerTotalPrice per GB
50 GBAiralo$35$0.70/GBGet plan ↗
25 GBUbigi$28$1.12/GBGet plan ↗🏷 10% off with code TRAVELCITY10
20 GBSim Local$14.75$0.74/GBGet plan ↗🏷 10% off with code ATESIM
10 GBSim Local$9.75$0.97/GBGet plan ↗🏷 10% off with code ATESIM
5 GBSim Local$7.75$1.55/GBGet plan ↗🏷 10% off with code ATESIM
1 GBYesim$3.44$3.44/GBGet plan ↗🏷 15% off with code TRAVELCITY

Cost per GB rises from $0.70/GB at 50 GB to $3.44/GB at 1 GB. Buying a little more data than you expect to use is almost always cheaper per gigabyte than buying exactly what you need.

The "unlimited" trap

The same words, unlimited for 30 days, cover a wide price range, and most plans slow down after a daily threshold that the label hides.

ProviderUnlimited, 30 daysFair-use cap
Ubigi$48Not publishedGet plan ↗🏷 10% off with code TRAVELCITY10
Maya$49.993 GB/day, then 10 Mbps sourceGet plan ↗🏷 10% off with code ATESIM
GigSky$65.492.5 GB/day, then reduced, but not below 100 kbps sourceGet plan ↗🏷 15% off with code ATESIM
Yesim$65.81Not publishedGet plan ↗🏷 15% off with code TRAVELCITY
Airalo$693 GB/day, then 1 Mbps sourceGet plan ↗
Saily$71.995 GB/day, then 1 Mbps sourceGet plan ↗

Unlimited 30 day plans run from $48 to $71.99, a spread of about 50 percent, for a label that means the same thing on paper. Check the daily cap before you buy, especially if you plan to tether a laptop.

Do not overpay for coverage you will not use

If your whole trip is in Portugal, a Portugal only plan is far cheaper per gigabyte than a Europe or global plan carrying the same data. Same provider (Nomad), same 50 GB, 30 days:

Nomad planPricePrice per GB
Portugal only$45$0.90/GBGet plan ↗🏷 20% off with code ATESIM
Europe$35$0.70/GBGet plan ↗🏷 20% off with code ATESIM
Global$129$2.58/GBGet plan ↗🏷 20% off with code ATESIM

A Portugal only plan costs much less per gigabyte than a regional or global plan with the same data. Only pay for the wider plan if you are actually crossing borders on this trip.

The bottom line

Sim Local wins 5 GB, 10 GB and 20 GB for 30 days. Airalo wins 50 GB on the dest cheapest-at-size table. Ubigi wins 3 GB and 25 GB. Yesim wins 1 GB and 30 GB. At 10 GB the live-table order is Sim Local, Airalo, Ubigi, Nomad, Saily, Yesim. Hosts: Sim Local MEO, Vodafone, NOS on the SKUs; Airalo NOS, Vodafone and MEO on the shop payload; Ubigi Meo (TMN) on the SKU; Nomad MEO / Vodafone / Sonaecom on the shop. Yesim and Saily stay unpublished on the shop. Nomad and Sim Local print a hotspot line. Yesim says it depends on the operator. Ubigi SKU says data sharing allowed. Airalo and Saily hotspot lines are empty this pass.

Gibraltar sits outside the EU 27. Boats and planes sit outside roam-like-at-home when the phone latches a non-terrestrial network. Madeira and the Azores stay empty for Sim Local country SKUs, Ubigi, Yesim, Nomad and Saily. Airalo's payload names those two regions. Nomad prints an overseas-territory hedge.

The live Portugal table is at /portugal. Plan Match is /plan-match.

Still weighing it up for a specific destination? Our travel eSIM comparison toolranks live plans by real price per GB, filtered to exactly where you’re going.

Frequently asked questions

Does a Portugal eSIM work in Madeira or the Azores?

Airalo's package payload says coverage also includes Madeira and the Azores. Nomad's shop warns that overseas territories may be excluded and does not name those islands. Sim Local country SKUs print coverage as Portugal. Those cells stay empty for Ubigi, Yesim and Saily. Porto Santo is unnamed on every shop opened this pass.

Does it work on a ferry, a flight, or in Spain and Gibraltar?

European Commission roaming page: non-terrestrial networks on boats and planes are not roam-like-at-home. Your Europe: Portugal and Spain are in the EU 27. Gibraltar is not. No first-party named latch, so the Spanish and Gibraltarian cells stay empty. A Portugal-only plan is not a Spain plan.

What happens if I run out of data?

Buy another Portugal plan in the app. The shops stay open.

Can I tether or use a hotspot?

Nomad Portugal shop FAQ: yes, tethering / hotspot. Sim Local 5/10/20 GB SKUs: yes. Yesim Portugal shop: depends on the operator. Ubigi 10 GB and 25 GB SKUs: data sharing allowed. Airalo Portugal shop and payload did not state a tethering line. Saily Portugal shop was blocked, so the cell is empty.

Travel eSIM or a local SIM?

Lisbon or Porto for a week, or the Algarve for a fortnight: travel eSIM. A Portuguese number, or a month-plus: MEO, NOS, Vodafone or Digi prepaid, with ID at purchase.

Which network will I actually use?

Sim Local 5/10/20 GB SKUs: MEO, Vodafone, NOS. Airalo shop payload: NOS, Vodafone and MEO. Ubigi 10 GB SKU: Meo (TMN). Nomad shop: MEO / Vodafone / Sonaecom. Yesim and Saily: unpublished on the shop. Opensignal's July 2023 report is a coverage map for MEO, NOS and Vodafone. It does not name a host for these picks.

See these ranked for your destination

Compare 14,000+ travel eSIMs by real price per GB across 110+ destinations — filtered to where you’re going.

Compare eSIMs →