Buying guideIndependently ranked · 6 picks

Best Travel eSIMs for Australia in 2026

Australia-country 10 GB, 30-day dest totals this pass sit at Nomad $15, Yesim $15.93, Ubigi Australia Prepaid $16, Sim Local $17.75, Saily $17.99 and Airalo $18.

Australia-country 10 GB, 30-day dest totals this pass sit at Nomad $15, Yesim $15.93, Ubigi Australia Prepaid $16, Sim Local $17.75, Saily $17.99 and Airalo $18. GigSky's $29.99 10 GB 30-day country row stays eligible because dest's cheapest 50 GB country SKU is Nomad's 30-day 50 GB at $32, and GigSky's own 50 GB country row is 90-day rather than 180-day, yet that $29.99 total sits outside the six. None of the six 10 GB totals match, so a named host is not used as a tiebreak this pass.

Opensignal's Australia Mobile Network Experience Report, May 2026 (90 days from 1 January 2026 to 31 March 2026), covers Optus, Telstra and Vodafone. Optus led with eight awards (six outright, two shared with Vodafone). 4G Download Speed Experience: Optus 58.3 Mbps (sole), Telstra 51.7 Mbps, Vodafone 39.3 Mbps. 4G Upload Speed Experience: Vodafone 8.8 Mbps (sole), Optus 7.1 Mbps, Telstra 6.9 Mbps. 4G Video Experience: Optus 72.4 (sole). 4G Games Experience: Optus 81.3 (sole). 5G Download Speed: Optus 199.9 Mbps (sole), Telstra 171.7 Mbps, Vodafone 161.8 Mbps. 5G Upload Speed: Vodafone 15.6 Mbps (sole), Optus and Telstra 13.5 Mbps. 5G Video Experience: Optus 77.5 (sole). 5G Games Experience: Optus 88.6 (sole). Coverage Experience: Telstra 9.6 / 10 (sole), Optus 8.5, Vodafone 8.0. 5G Coverage Experience: Telstra 8.0 / 10 (sole), Optus 5.6, Vodafone 5.4. 5G Availability: Vodafone 85.7 per cent (sole), Telstra 77.4 per cent, Optus 63.8 per cent. Time on Network: Optus and Vodafone 99.4 per cent (joint), Telstra 99.1 per cent. Consistent Quality: Vodafone 85.0 per cent (sole). Reliability Experience: Vodafone 945 and Optus 944 (joint), Telstra 937 (100 to 1000). Those scores describe the national MNOs. They do not name a host for any pick. Do not copy Telstra from Opensignal onto a pick that did not print it.

The Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) published the Telecommunications (Mobile Network Coverage Maps) Industry Standard 2026. Operators must publish standardised 4G and 5G coverage maps in four categories (good, moderate, basic, or no coverage), with the first maps due by 30 June 2026 and updates at least every three months. Opensignal's May 2026 market overview notes the same ACMA map rules and related spectrum work. That regulator package is coverage-map standardisation. It is not a shop host.

Australia is outside the EU roam-like-at-home area. An Australia-country travel eSIM stays inside the storefront's Australia coverage. New Zealand stays empty on Australia-country SKUs unless that shop names a latch; none of the six did this pass. Ubigi's Australia+Nzl 10 GB 30-day dest row is a different SKU ($18). Ubigi Oceania / Best World / World 10 GB 30-day dest rows are different SKUs ($59 / $39 / $59).

Island, external-territory and adjacent cells stay empty unless that shop or SKU names the place. Nomad's Australia shop warns that coverage may not include overseas territories and markets Sydney and Melbourne. Saily's Australia FAQ answers that the prepaid eSIM offers network coverage in Tasmania, with stronger service in cities and major towns and possible variation on long rural stretches. Sim Local 5/10/20 GB SKUs name strong coverage in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide, and flag regional and outback areas such as Uluru, Alice Springs or the Nullarbor as possibly limited or unstable. They do not name Norfolk Island, Christmas Island, Cocos/Keeling or Lord Howe as coverage. Yesim's country shop city list includes Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Geelong, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney and Wollongong. Ubigi Australia Prepaid SKUs and Airalo Yes-Go leave Tasmania and the external territories unnamed as coverage. GigSky leaves those places unnamed. Do not invent external-territory coverage, or a New Zealand latch, from Optus, Telstra or Vodafone unless that shop names the place.

The dest 10 GB, 30-day country order among the six ranked picks is Nomad, Yesim, Ubigi, Sim Local, Saily, Airalo. Top-ups sit in each provider's app once the plan is on an Australian network.

For a set trip length and daily data need across Sydney, Melbourne or the outback, skip to the plans. To turn those two inputs into a size first, Plan Match at /plan-match stays on this guide's shortlist.

In a hurry? Skip to the at-a-glance list. Planning something specific? Use our comparison tool to filter live plans by destination and budget.

The best travel eSIMs at a glance

Our 6 top picks, ranked. Tap one to jump to the full review.
1
Cheapest ranked 10 GB 30-day total; dest 3/5/20/50 GB☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Nomad

FROM$1.50/GB
Host networkOptus / Telstra (shop; 10 GB SKU both)
CoverageOverseas territories not claimed. Shop markets Sydney and Melbourne. Tasmania unnamed on the shop
HotspotYes on the Australia shop FAQ
CodeDest prints ATESIM 20% on the 10 GB row. Programme excludes sale, unlimited, Thailand 50 GB, plans under USD 5
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
ATESIM20% off

Nomad's Australia shop names Optus / Telstra. The 10 GB 30-day SKU (Local Australia - 30 Days - 10 GB, Jade) lists Optus and Telstra on mask_network, both with coverage AU (mccmnc 50502_AU and 50501_AU). The same shop FAQ prints: Yes, Nomad's eSIMs support tethering / hotspot. Coverage may not include overseas territories. The shop markets Sydney and Melbourne. Norfolk Island, Christmas Island, Cocos/Keeling and Lord Howe are not on that shop as coverage. Do not invent a New Zealand latch from Optus or Telstra.

Live-table 10 GB 30-day is $15, ATESIM 20% where the dest table prints it. ATESIM 20% does not apply to unlimited, add-ons, business, sale, Thailand 50 GB, or plans under USD 5. The Australia 10 GB 30-day shop offer sits above the USD 5 floor. Dest still prints ATESIM on shorter unlimited rows; programme ATESIM 20% excludes those unlimited rows. Live-table 3 GB 30-day is $7, which is dest cheapest at 3 GB. Live-table 5 GB 30-day is $10, which is dest cheapest at 5 GB. Live-table 20 GB 30-day is $24, which is dest cheapest at 20 GB. Live-table 50 GB 30-day is $32, which is dest cheapest at 50 GB. No dest 25 GB or 30-day unlimited country row for Nomad.

Same provider, same 20 GB on the live dest comparison block: Australia only $24, Oceania $28, Global $59.

Strengths
  • +Cheapest ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($15)
  • +Dest cheapest 3 GB, 5 GB, 20 GB and 50 GB 30-day country rows ($7 / $10 / $24 / $32)
  • +Shop names Optus / Telstra; 10 GB SKU mask_network names both, coverage AU
  • +Hotspot supported on the Australia shop FAQ
  • +ATESIM 20% where the dest table prints it on eligible capped rows
Limitations
  • No 25 GB or 30-day unlimited country row on dest
  • Overseas territories not claimed; external territories unnamed on the shop
  • Tasmania not named on the shop as coverage
  • Shorter unlimited dest rows exist; programme ATESIM 20% excludes unlimited
Verdict · Local Australia 10 GB still carries Optus and Telstra on mask_network at the $15 dest floor, with Nomad also holding the 3, 5, 20 and 50 GB country cheapest-at-size rows.
Buy Nomad
2
Second at 10 GB 30-day dest total; dest 1 GB☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Yesim

FROM$1.59/GB
Host networkVodafone, Optus (operators payload)
CoverageAdelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Geelong, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney, Wollongong, and other cities in Australia. Tasmania and external territories unnamed on that list
HotspotDepends on operator
CodeTRAVELCITY 15% on the dest row
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
TRAVELCITY15% off

Yesim's Australia shop operators payload names Vodafone and Optus. SwitchLess Networks is policy, not a carrier. Specs hotspot line: Depends on operator. Network coverage city list: Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Geelong, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney, Wollongong, and other cities in Australia. Norfolk Island, Christmas Island, Cocos/Keeling, Lord Howe and Tasmania stay unnamed on that list.

Live-table 10 GB 30-day is $15.93, TRAVELCITY 15% where the dest table prints it. Live-table 1 GB 30-day is $4.55, which is dest cheapest at 1 GB. Live-table 20 GB 30-day is $26.17. Unlimited 30-day is $65.81 with dest printing Not published. Do not invent a daily GB on that row.

Strengths
  • +Second-cheapest ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($15.93)
  • +Dest cheapest 1 GB 30-day country row ($4.55)
  • +Operators payload names Vodafone, Optus
  • +City list printed on the country shop
  • +TRAVELCITY 15% where the dest table prints it
Limitations
  • Hotspot specs say Depends on operator
  • No dest cheapest-at-size win at 5, 10, 20 or 50 GB
  • External territories and Tasmania unnamed on the city list
  • SwitchLess is not a carrier cite
Verdict · Dest's $15.93 Yesim 10 GB row sits second, with Vodafone and Optus on the operators payload and the $4.55 1 GB country floor also on that provider.
Buy Yesim
3
Third at 10 GB 30-day dest total; dest 25 GB☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Ubigi

FROM$1.60/GB
Host networkOptus (Australia Prepaid SKUs)
CoverageIslands and Tasmania not named on the SKUs
HotspotData sharing allowed on those SKUs
CodeTRAVELCITY10 for 10% off
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
TRAVELCITY1010% off

Ubigi is the cheapest 30-day Australia-country row at 25 GB ($32). The Australia Prepaid 10 GB 30-day SKU names Optus. The 25 GB and 50 GB 30-day SKUs print the same host. Those SKUs say data sharing is allowed. They do not name Norfolk Island, Christmas Island, Cocos/Keeling, Lord Howe or Tasmania. The partner list is not the cite this pass. Australia+Nzl Prepaid is a different product line.

Live-table 10 GB 30-day Australia Prepaid is $16, TRAVELCITY10 10% where the dest table prints it. Shop list on the 10 GB SKU is US$16. Live-table 50 GB 30-day is $55, behind Nomad $32. Unlimited 30-day is $65 with dest printing Not published. Do not invent a daily GB on that row.

Same provider, same 10 GB, 30 days on the live dest table: Australia Prepaid $16, Australia+Nzl $18, Best World $39, Oceania $59, World $59.

Strengths
  • +Third-cheapest ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($16)
  • +Dest cheapest 25 GB 30-day country row ($32)
  • +10/25/50 GB Australia Prepaid SKUs name Optus
  • +Same 10 GB 30-day: Australia Prepaid $16, Best World $39, Oceania $59
  • +Data sharing allowed on those SKUs
Limitations
  • 10 GB dest total is third among the six
  • No dest cheapest-at-size win at 5, 10, 20 or 50 GB
  • External territories and Tasmania unnamed on the SKUs
  • Partner list is not used as a host cite
Verdict · Optus stays on the Australia Prepaid 10 GB and 25 GB SKU blocks while dest prices that 10 GB row at $16 and leaves Ubigi alone on the 25 GB country floor at $32.
Buy Ubigi
4
Fourth at 10 GB 30-day dest total☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Sim Local

FROM$1.78/GB
Host networkOptus, Telstra (5/10/20 GB SKUs)
CoverageStrong coverage in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide. Regional and outback areas such as Uluru, Alice Springs or the Nullarbor may be limited or unstable. External territories and Tasmania unnamed
HotspotYes on those SKUs
CodeATESIM 10% on the dest row
★ Exclusive all things eSIM code
ATESIM10% off

Sim Local's 5 GB, 10 GB and 20 GB country SKUs name Optus, Telstra. The same SKUs print hotspot and tethering: yes. Coverage copy on those SKUs: strong coverage in key Australian cities like Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide; regional and outback areas such as Uluru, Alice Springs or the Nullarbor may be limited or unstable. They do not name Norfolk Island, Christmas Island, Cocos/Keeling, Lord Howe or Tasmania. Orange Holiday World and Three Global lines on the same brand are different product lines and are not treated as dest cheapest Australia-country SKUs.

ATESIM is 10% off where the dest table prints it. Live-table 10 GB 30-day is $17.75. Live-table 5 GB 30-day is $11, behind Nomad $10. Live-table 20 GB 30-day is $29.75, behind Nomad $24. Shop list on 10 GB matches dest. No 25 GB, 50 GB or 30-day unlimited country row on dest for these Sim Local country SKUs.

Strengths
  • +5/10/20 GB SKUs name Optus, Telstra
  • +Hotspot and tethering yes on those SKUs
  • +City coverage hedge printed on the SKUs
  • +ATESIM 10% where the dest table prints it
Limitations
  • 10 GB dest total is fourth among the six
  • No dest cheapest-at-size win at 5, 10, 20 or 50 GB
  • No 25 GB, 50 GB or 30-day unlimited country row on dest
  • External territories and Tasmania unnamed on those SKUs
Verdict · The 10 GB ESFX page still lists Optus, Telstra and hotspot yes, and the live dest total for that size is $17.75, fourth among the six.
Buy Sim Local
5
Fifth at 10 GB 30-day dest total☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Saily

FROM$1.80/GB
Host networkNot publicly disclosed
CoverageTasmania named in the Australia FAQ. External territories unnamed
HotspotUnlimited hotspot sharing on the Australia shop

Saily's Australia shop does not name Telstra, Optus or Vodafone as the host. Network copy: Saily connects to the best local network carriers to offer the most stable and reliable connection to the internet. A sentence that mentions Telstra, Optus or Vodafone as networks travellers may be used to is not a Saily host cite. Shop hotspot line: Enjoy unlimited hotspot sharing with friends and family. FAQ: Yes, the prepaid eSIM for Australia offers network coverage in Tasmania; speeds and coverage are strongest in cities and major towns, and service on long rural stretches may vary. Norfolk Island, Christmas Island, Cocos/Keeling and Lord Howe are unnamed as coverage.

Saily is not the cheapest 30-day row at 5, 10 or 20 GB. Live-table 10 GB 30-day is $17.99. Live-table 5 GB 30-day is $10.99. Live-table 20 GB 30-day is $29.99. Unlimited 30-day is $71.99 with dest printing 5 GB/day then 1 Mbps. Dest prints no promo on Saily this pass.

Strengths
  • +Dest 10 GB 30-day country row exists
  • +Shop prints an unlimited hotspot sharing line
  • +Tasmania named in the Australia FAQ coverage answer
  • +5 GB, 20 GB and unlimited 30-day country rows exist on dest
Limitations
  • Shop does not name an Australian MNO as host
  • 10 GB dest total is fifth among the six
  • No dest cheapest-at-size win at 5, 10, 20 or 50 GB
  • External territories unnamed
Verdict · Without a named Australian host on the country shop, Saily's 10 GB dest total lands at $17.99, and Tasmania appears only in that FAQ coverage reply.
Buy Saily
6
Sixth at 10 GB 30-day dest total☆☆☆☆☆ 0.0/5

Airalo

FROM$1.80/GB
Host networkOptus (Yes-Go shop/payload)
CoverageIslands and Tasmania not named on other_info

Airalo's Australia Yes-Go package page for 10 GB 30-day (yes-go-in-30days-10gb, dest $18) shows Optus as the first network. The same page copy says it operates on the Optus network in Australia. Hotspot is not stated as a support line on that shop or package payload (a data-usage FAQ that mentions using a hotspot is not a hotspot: yes cite), so it is omitted. Operator other_info does not name Norfolk Island, Christmas Island, Cocos/Keeling, Lord Howe or Tasmania. Ranking uses the data-only 10 GB country total.

Airalo is not the cheapest 30-day row at 5, 10 or 20 GB. Live-table 10 GB 30-day is $18. Live-table 20 GB 30-day country row is $30. Live-table 5 GB 30-day country row is $11. Live-table 50 GB 30-day is $45, behind Nomad $32. Dest unlimited 30-day country row is $66.50 with dest printing 3 GB/day then 1 Mbps. Dest prints no promo on Airalo this pass.

Strengths
  • +Yes-Go shop names Optus
  • +5 GB, 20 GB, 50 GB and unlimited 30-day country rows exist on dest
  • +Dest 50 GB country row exists behind Nomad
Limitations
  • Hotspot not stated as supported on the Yes-Go shop or payload
  • 10 GB 30-day dest total is sixth among the six
  • Not the cheapest 30-day row at 5, 10, 20 or 50 GB
  • External territories and Tasmania unnamed on other_info
Verdict · Dest closes the six at Airalo's $18 Yes-Go 10 GB row, where the package page names Optus and leaves hotspot unpublished.
Buy Airalo

The bottom line

Nomad is the cheapest ranked 10 GB 30-day dest total ($15) and the dest cheapest 3 GB, 5 GB, 20 GB and 50 GB 30-day rows. Yesim is second at 10 GB and dest cheapest at 1 GB. Ubigi is third at 10 GB and dest cheapest at 25 GB. Sim Local is fourth. Saily is fifth. Airalo is sixth. GigSky's 10 GB dest total is $29.99 and sits outside the six; GigSky stays eligible because dest's cheapest 50 GB country SKU is not 180-day. Dest unlimited 30-day among programme country rows on the unlimited table is lowest at Ubigi Australia Prepaid $65; Maya $49.99 exists on dest and is out. Hosts: Nomad Optus / Telstra on the shop and 10 GB SKU; Yesim Vodafone, Optus on the operators payload; Ubigi Optus on the Australia Prepaid SKUs; Sim Local Optus, Telstra on the SKUs; Saily unpublished; Airalo Optus on Yes-Go. Nomad, Sim Local and Saily print a hotspot line. GigSky shop (outside the six) prints unlimited hotspot use. Ubigi SKU says data sharing allowed. Yesim specs say Depends on operator. Airalo hotspot line is empty this pass.

Saily names Tasmania in an FAQ coverage answer. Nomad prints an overseas-territory hedge and markets Sydney and Melbourne. Sim Local names Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide with an outback hedge. Ubigi SKUs, Airalo Yes-Go, Yesim city list and GigSky leave Norfolk Island, Christmas Island, Cocos/Keeling and Lord Howe empty as coverage claims. New Zealand stays empty on Australia-country SKUs.

Plan Match is /plan-match.

Still weighing it up for a specific destination? Our travel eSIM comparison toolranks live plans by real price per GB, filtered to exactly where you’re going.

Frequently asked questions

Does an Australia eSIM cover Norfolk Island, Christmas Island, Cocos/Keeling or Lord Howe?

No ranked shop named those external territories as coverage this pass, so those cells stay empty. Nomad shop: overseas territories may be excluded; Sydney and Melbourne named. Saily FAQ names Tasmania, not those territories. Sim Local 5/10/20 GB SKUs: mainland city hedge; territories unnamed. Ubigi Australia Prepaid SKUs: unnamed. Airalo Yes-Go: unnamed. Yesim city list: mainland cities. GigSky (outside the six): unnamed. Do not copy Optus, Telstra or Vodafone onto an external-territory cell the shop did not name.

Does an Australia-country plan cover Tasmania?

Saily FAQ: yes, with stronger service in cities and major towns and possible variation on long rural stretches. Nomad shop: Tasmania not named. Sim Local SKUs: Tasmania not named. Ubigi Australia Prepaid SKUs: Tasmania not named. Airalo Yes-Go: Tasmania not named. Yesim city list: Tasmania not named. GigSky: Tasmania not named as coverage on the Australia shop. Tasmania is a state; claim it only where that shop names it.

Does an Australia-country plan latch onto New Zealand?

No first-party Australia-country shop named a New Zealand latch this pass, so that cell stays empty. Ubigi Australia+Nzl and Ubigi Oceania are separate products. Australia is not inside the EU roam-like-at-home regime. An Australia-only dest row is not a border plan.

Can I tether or use a hotspot?

Nomad Australia shop FAQ: yes, tethering / hotspot. Sim Local 5/10/20 GB SKUs: yes. Saily shop: Enjoy unlimited hotspot sharing with friends and family. Ubigi 10/25/50 GB Australia Prepaid SKUs: data sharing allowed. Yesim specs: Depends on operator. Airalo Yes-Go shop and payload did not state a tethering support line. GigSky Australia shop hotspotBody (outside the six): Unlimited use included.

Which network will I actually use?

Nomad shop: Optus / Telstra (10 GB SKU both, Australian MCCMNC). Yesim operators payload: Vodafone, Optus. Ubigi Australia Prepaid SKUs: Optus. Sim Local 5/10/20 GB SKUs: Optus, Telstra. Airalo Yes-Go shop: Optus. Saily: unpublished on the shop. GigSky (outside the six): unpublished on the shop. Opensignal's May 2026 report is a coverage map for Optus, Telstra and Vodafone. It does not name a host for these picks. Do not fill Telstra from that report onto a pick that did not print it.

Does ATESIM 20% apply to Nomad's Australia 10 GB plan?

ATESIM 20% does not apply to unlimited, add-ons, business, sale, Thailand 50 GB, or plans under USD 5. The Australia 10 GB 30-day dest/shop offer is $15 this pass, so it is not under the USD 5 floor. Dest still prints ATESIM on that row and on shorter unlimited rows. Programme ATESIM 20% still does not apply to those unlimited rows.

See these ranked for your destination

Compare 14,000+ travel eSIMs by real price per GB across 110+ destinations — filtered to where you’re going.

Compare eSIMs →